We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“DO NOT STAY HERE! - BAD Customer Service!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE! - BAD Customer Service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We came down to the Hamilton Inn for one night with a group of 15 year old hockey players. We came on a bus and they were prepared to attack us as we checked in! They made us all sign a waiver that the kids HAD to be in there rooms at 9:00PM and that they were also not allowed in the pool area after 9:00PM!! We checked in and were charged $30 more then any of the other families in our group! We told them that we had a group rate but they insisted that our room was more because it was a lakeview room! Lakeview room!!!??? It is a view of a white, snow covered field right now!! I don't think we will be using the beach - really!!?? Finally, after some convincing and arguing with the rude and very obnoxious front desk staff, they decided to only charge us $10 more - whatever! I will NEVER stay here again EVER!!!

The front desk staff also failed to tell any of us in our group that if you stay at the Hamilton Inn you have access to an indoor waterpark that is across the street. This really upset me because my 11 year old daughter was also with us and would have enjoyed the waterpark. Just very poor customer service - very sad.

My son and I did decide to go down to the pool area and sorry but the pool area was very, very dirty. Big hairballs in the hot tub and my son actually was hurt in the hot tub on one of the jets that was broken. There was a huge vent that was exposed too and the screen was broken that was supposed to be over it. A little kid could definately fall through!!!

The internet connection in the hotel is totally non-existent, so if you need to do any work, forget it! The breakfast was ok, typical breakfast, nothing special. Rooms at this hotel were just like any other Super8 or Comfort Inn - not great.

Some of the front desk staff in this hotel were very, very rude and very unprofessional. I was also surprised that they weren't wearing any kind of matching t-shirts or uniforms - one front desk lady actually had a t-shirt on that said "Go Jamaica" - very sloppy.

I would NOT stay here again! Just very unprofessional and very rude. There is many, many other places to stay in Mackinaw City that are much nicer then this crabby place. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joylites13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    143
    127
    94
    193
See reviews for
302
254
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wautoma, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

On a recent road trip from Wisconsin to Toronto, we did part of the Lake Michigan circle tour. We stayed at the Hamilton Inn Select in Mackinaw City on 10/21/12 because they gave us the best deal when I called about rooms & it looked nice from the road & we liked the location. Check in was very quick & staff were friendly & helpful. Ours was a lakefront room, very clean, comfy bed & it had a fridge which is nice when your road tripping. Found out that more than half of the hotels here are closed at this time of the year, so our choices were limited somewhat. Woke up at 7AM when the nearby ferry boat started it's engines. It left at 7:30 with the 1st load going over to Mackinac Island. It was time to get up & get going anyway & we saw the most beautiful sunrise over the lake at 8:05AM, so we can't complain. Hit the breakfast room next, it's up on the 3rd floor. Thought that was wierd; but it was very spacious & the breakfast selection was ample: biscuits & gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage, canned tropical fruit, waffles, bagels, assorted toast, cereals & the usual. Would stay here again if passing through & would recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maralyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, MI
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the way to the upper peninsula for a wintery adventure. Offseason rates are very good and the hotel met my expectations for the price that I paid. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I skipped the breakfast after reading prior reviews, so I can't comment on that. I would stay here again and probably will in February.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good hotel but update your website people. They offer rooms with one queen bed on their site. In reality these do not exist. All have 2 beds which just take up more room, in an already small room, if you don't need two beds. Also, they show a picture of a girl sitting at their bar enjoying a cocktail. They do not have a bar. Breakfast bar is free and if you like free things then go for it. I decided to go elsewhere and pay for "food" versus getting free "substance" and based on some of the reviews I read I guess I'm not alone on the breakfast bar. It's the only meal this hotel offers so I would have thought they'd put a little more effort into it. Don't get me wrong. I'm not looking for a gourmet 5-star breakfast but you'll see what I mean if you experience it.
Outside if the "breakfast" bar and advertising rooms that don't exist this is actually a great hotel. Really nice and clean. Has a lot of character inside and out. Great location. Friendly staff. I need to give credit where it's due and not just advertise the bad only as most people do. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone...just not the breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloverboy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Rooms were extreamly clean, comfortable & of good size. We were very impressed by the cleanliness of the pool & hot tub. Staff was informative & courteous. We really only had one complaint, the breakfast bar was terrible. It was almost as though the owner went to Aldis and got the cheapest meat & milk they could find, very gamey & Egg's were definately not real. All in all it was very enjoyable & we would definately recommend this hotel & plan to stay again. However, we will be going out for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wintersgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Imagine sitting on the sofa in your room and all of a sudden you hear a loud noise, perhaps an explosion, coming from the balcony overlooking the beach. Imagine upon investigating that your doorwall has just shattered with windshield-type shards all over your floor....and you're barefoot! And then just imagine when you call the front desk and they send someone to investigate, insinuating that you're the cause of doorwall exploding. We didn't have to imagine that, as it actually happened. We were not offered another room, not offered our night comped, but we were put out of our room for several hours while they cleaned up the mess, and then came back to no doorwall, an unsecured room until the next day when they replaced the doorwall.

HISB advertises a restaurant and lounge, but you have to walk across the busy street to get to it. Seriously?!

The pool is right off the lobby, affording no privacy. And the breakfast bar didn't change the entire time we were there. If, by chance, you want a waffle, prepare to wait awhile as the throngs descend on the one wafflemaker.

We won't be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRguy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We break up our pre-Christmas trip from Sault Ste. Marie, Canada to Traverse City with an overnight in Mackinaw City. This time we stayed at the Hamilton Inn Select Beachfront. Easy check in and out, friendly staff, priveledges at the neighbouring waterkpark replete with sauna (Comfort Suites), predictably awesome breakfast, free wifi and a well appointed and clean room. The pool/hot tub at the Hamilton is open until midnight! A late night soak meant for an even better sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amos111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Property: Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Address: 701 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9664
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Select Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing