We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just okay - many nicer hotels in the area.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just okay - many nicer hotels in the area.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a first floor room, not my preference, hit fairly hard.....perhaps lots of use. The sign stated it was the newest hotel in town...not sure what this meant. We walked past many newer and nicer looking facilities on the same street. The bathroom was extremely small, poorly lit and our room did not look or feel very clean. We stayed two nites because when I called to make the reservation while driving from Wisconsin Dells we were told the "special rate" was not refundable. I truly understand why...once we arrived had we had a choice we probably would have stayed elsewhere. The evening desk staff had a long way to go toward being helpful and friendly. On a positive note..the hotel is conveniently located to many restaurants, the ferries and shopping.....they also had a nice breakfast..

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms on an upper floor are in better shape....we would probably not take a chance on this f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    138
    123
    93
    184
See reviews for
292
235
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I guess time and personnel changes and maybe even the economy is taking its toll. Upon arrival (maybe because we booked the "cheap" Internet rate - only to find that it is indeed the standard mid-week rate) we were not informed about WiFi access .. there was nothing about it in the room ... etc. A call to the desk was confusing since there are a few WiFi names that are similar and it was not obvious which one we were to use. Beyond this, it does look like a makeover is due to the physical property. It is close to worn out even if it brags being the newest motel in Mackinaw City. Even the breakfast buffet times lacked communication, one day 6am, the next 7am. Next time I visit I am looking into alternative lodging .. sad, many good memories here over the past years.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swabby1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the outside, this looks like a nice newer hotel. Inside is a different story. The carpeting in the rooms and hallway are old and need replacing. The stairways have a very distinct musty, moldy odor. Cleanliness is lacking. Filthy windows detract from what could be great lake views. We found the staff to be indifferent, not unfriendly, just not engaged. The breakfast was not very good either. I would not stay at this hotel again. All hotels in Mackinaw City are convenient to the ferries (there are 3 of them), so the fact that a ferry is next door is not a selling point.

Room Tip: Stay at another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

New Ulm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautiful immaculate room on the beachfront!! Enjoyed the walk out balcony and the numerous sea gulls. The breakfast was very generous and delicious! Superb hotel within walking distance of eating and shopping! We will definitely stay here again!! Thank you Managers and Staff...you were awesome!

Room Tip: Beachfront is super nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardJudy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have stayed at the Hamilton Inn for several years since it was brand new (even though it still claims to be NEW on their sign). Customer Service at the front desk is not what it used to be at all. It has been about 3 years since our last visit. Upon check-in they didn't explain how to connect to the Internet. When my husband tried to connect I called the front desk and they told me - we still tried for over 2 hours (& 2 other calls to the front desk and given the same information!) and then finally brought the laptop down to the desk. Apparently they didn't tell us the COMPLETE information!! It would help if they understood ENGLISH a bit better. They did tell us the time for the breakfast - which was true for our first morning but not our 2nd morning - the hours changed due to a bus being there. They also did not inform us of the indoor water park that was part of our stay - we knew about it from a previous stay so asked about it. The communication between the front desk and the guests needs some major overhaul to get me to stay there again. The rooms were OK but haven't been updated since new but yet they were very clean and I have stayed in far worse. We were there mid week and the rate was $59 a night so not complaining on that one as on the weekend the rooms go for $169 a night! We liked staying there because it is right next door to the ferry to the Island and convenient and love the beachfront.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank care4many
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taylor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I visited our son in Iowa and decided to come home through the UP...we knew it was going to be a huge fall color weekend ,so we called the Hamilton Inn in Mackinaw City and made reservations for saturday before leaving Iowa...I gave them my mastercard and they gave me a reservation number. We arrived in town early afternoon, (sure enough the town was bumper-to-bumper traffic) We came in with our luggage and confirm # ...and they tell us they gave our room away .its 3 p.m folks! They said they called to see if we were coming ,I told them we gave you our credit card for the room...because we were in a no service area while on the road we were screwed...we were extremely lucky to get the last room at a motel (after a frantic search) I really believe they sold us out for a higher price...we almost ended up sleeping in a rest area....We Will never consider staying at a Hamilton Inn again!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinson, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed on the fourth floor overlooking the lake. Have a wonderful time. Enjoyed their breakfast and pool. The room was spotless and I loved the screen door to the balcony. The only negitive thing was the shower was dark but I could live with that and the jacuzzi in the super large bathtub wouldn't turn on. We called the front desk and the maint guy came up and played with the controls and fixed it. So I still say the 3 days at this hotel was wonderful and I plan on returning every year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trphyl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.5 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront

Property: Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Address: 701 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9664
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Mackinaw City
Hamilton Hotel Select Beachfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing