We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A clean, comfortable room with all the little details not in place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parkside Inn - Bridgeside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A clean, comfortable room with all the little details not in place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

So the room was nice. Bed was comfy and had a wubby.....just look up the word. The older man at the front desk was more than pleasant. Location was excellent. The basics were in place for a decent hotel stay.
The downers? Pool/hot tub were closed with no notice. I wouldn't have booked here had I known. Needed more pillows. Horrendous breakfast. Coke machine broke. Rooms were locked out second day. Scary elevator.
Just a lot of little things sucked. Some preventable, some not. This place has potential though.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichiganRaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    36
    27
    20
    17
See reviews for
55
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spent one night at the Parkside Inn, in a modern room adjacent to the Mackinaw bridge ramp. The view was lovely however there was some traffic noise from vehicles driving on to the bridge ramp.
Room was comfortable, but not luxurious, bath towels had a sour odor. Included breakfast was barely adequate with the cheapest little doughnut pastries, cereals, and a boiled egg. These cheap breakfasts, with weak coffee, seem to be endemic at the included breakfasts with many hotels in the touristy areas.

Room Tip: Do not select room next to bridge, further away the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PegLegPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The room was clean and the front desk helpful with questions about the city and the island. Breakfast was not elaborate, but suitable. The pool is in a separate building, so you'll have to walk a very short distance from your room to the pool building, which is in the courtyard.

The hotel is just to the east of the bridge and a very short walk south of the waterfront. The waterfront is occupied by a park. It's a very pretty location, but not suitable for swimming. The water is shallow, but it's a stone beach, not sand.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljmach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stopped to break our journey north into Canada. Great location, and indeed - a good view of the bridge. Room was OK - but for a deluxe room, kind of expected more. Older bathroom, and sink did not drain speedily. Breakfast was poor. Coffee was bitter, and the choice minimal, with no option other than spread (i.e. - no butter!) so, we decided to spend some money and go to Darrows instead - a much better option. Not sure I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFlyingScots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Parkside calls us at home two days before our stay at the hotel is to begin and tells us our room
is is under construction and will not be finished on time . He offers another room which he says is
a better room but says it will cost us $ 50.00 more. He does not offer a free upgrade even though
it is their fault. He says he will put us up in another hotel The Court Plaza. It is a take it or leave it
offer.To not offer another room at the same price when available is a true sign of their attitude. Their customer does not come first, only their profit. This reservation was made two weeks in advance. Keep this in mind when planning your vacation, avoid an establishment which does not
appreciate its customers .

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy47122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

There are TONS of places to pick from in Mackinaw City and reviews are all mixed. We decided on Parkside and could not have been more happy. Every morning the staff was awake, outside, and cleaning something on the hotel property. Inside the rooms, all nooks and crannies were spotless. Rooms were small but we weren't planning on staying in them other than to sleep. The location was perfect to get anywhere on foot (except for crossing the bridge of course). Breakfast was so, so but who cares. The place was just really clean, tidy, and in the right spot. My wife and I and another couple stayed here for 3 nights just for a little get-away and it was great. We will definitely visit the area again and this is right where we will stay. We made it a point to commend the Manager on a job well done. By the way, we went during peak season and rates were acceptable. All around A+++

Room Tip: If you have a preference for a view of the bridge make sure you ask. You could see the bridge from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon,Mi
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a room with a nice view of the bridge. The room is one of the cleanest we have ever had in mackinaw. We come here every year. It was a little noise being so close to the bridge. We had a very nice stay.Pool was wonderful. Nice just walking acrossed the street to the park also.

Room Tip: Get the bridge view with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#16 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.3 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#19 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Inn - Bridgeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Inn - Bridgeside

Property: Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
Address: 771 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9501
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parkside Inn - Bridgeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe Bridgeview Inn nestled in Mackinaw's most beautiful location, overlooking the Mackinac Bridge, Lighthouse,Lighthouse Museum, Iron Workers Memorial & Lakeshore Park w/1000ft beach access. Walk to: Fort, Lighthouse, Mackinaw Crossing,restaurants, ferry docks, & free concert & Laser shows. Free hot breakfast served in our Bridge View Room, discount coupons available for Ferry Boats, Attractions, Restaurants & Shops. HDTVs, Largest indoor pool (9ftdeep), spa, guest laundry, fitness & game room. Large family rooms, high speed internet avail. Smoke free property & No pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Parkside Inn - Bridgeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Mackinaw City
Parkside Hotel Bridgeside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing