We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn calls & tells us we cannot have our room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Streamwood, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inn calls & tells us we cannot have our room”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Parkside calls us at home two days before our stay at the hotel is to begin and tells us our room
is is under construction and will not be finished on time . He offers another room which he says is
a better room but says it will cost us $ 50.00 more. He does not offer a free upgrade even though
it is their fault. He says he will put us up in another hotel The Court Plaza. It is a take it or leave it
offer.To not offer another room at the same price when available is a true sign of their attitude. Their customer does not come first, only their profit. This reservation was made two weeks in advance. Keep this in mind when planning your vacation, avoid an establishment which does not
appreciate its customers .

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy47122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    41
    28
    21
    19
See reviews for
62
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NW Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

There are TONS of places to pick from in Mackinaw City and reviews are all mixed. We decided on Parkside and could not have been more happy. Every morning the staff was awake, outside, and cleaning something on the hotel property. Inside the rooms, all nooks and crannies were spotless. Rooms were small but we weren't planning on staying in them other than to sleep. The location was perfect to get anywhere on foot (except for crossing the bridge of course). Breakfast was so, so but who cares. The place was just really clean, tidy, and in the right spot. My wife and I and another couple stayed here for 3 nights just for a little get-away and it was great. We will definitely visit the area again and this is right where we will stay. We made it a point to commend the Manager on a job well done. By the way, we went during peak season and rates were acceptable. All around A+++

Room Tip: If you have a preference for a view of the bridge make sure you ask. You could see the bridge from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon,Mi
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a room with a nice view of the bridge. The room is one of the cleanest we have ever had in mackinaw. We come here every year. It was a little noise being so close to the bridge. We had a very nice stay.Pool was wonderful. Nice just walking acrossed the street to the park also.

Room Tip: Get the bridge view with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Rooms were small but adequate and very clean. The staff was friendly and grounds very nice and neat. Convenient location within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The ONLY downside is the uncomfortable beds. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: if you want a view of the bridge from your room, be sure to ask when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h00siers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Center, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Overall a good place to stay, the room was clean, not much of a view even though I paid for one. the breakfast was a joke. The room was small and was out of date. Parking was easy and there was a very nice pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnae L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Room was small but very clean and comfortable. We were offered an upgrade for $20. to a King bed ( we had a queen ) and a little larger room. I'm not sure how much larger that would be since we turned the offer down. The pool was indoor and clean warm and large. the area where the pool was located was very nice and had a fireplace I figure for winter. There was a hot tub that was large enough for 8. They had a free continental breakfast from 7am til 9 am and was fine . Nothing great just fine. The people at the Inn where very friendly. I think it was a good value for a nice room and our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield Heights, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in a courtyard room. The room was very clean, and a little small. But when visiting Mackinaw you're not there to sit in the room all day. There was the typical Up North musty smell when we first walked in but the smell quickly went away. The hotel is at most a 10 minute walk from downtown and the hotel will call Sheplers shuttle to take you to the dock. The hotel was very quiet and you couldn't hear noise from other guests. The owners were very nice and always had a smile on their faces. The only downside was the mattress was hard. Next time I go Up North I will stay at the Parkside Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loribell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.3 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
213 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
0.2 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Inn - Bridgeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Inn - Bridgeside

Property: Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
Address: 771 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9501
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parkside Inn - Bridgeside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe Bridgeview Inn nestled in Mackinaw's most beautiful location, overlooking the Mackinac Bridge, Lighthouse,Lighthouse Museum, Iron Workers Memorial & Lakeshore Park w/1000ft beach access. Walk to: Fort, Lighthouse, Mackinaw Crossing,restaurants, ferry docks, & free concert & Laser shows. Free hot breakfast served in our Bridge View Room, discount coupons available for Ferry Boats, Attractions, Restaurants & Shops. HDTVs, Largest indoor pool (9ftdeep), spa, guest laundry, fitness & game room. Large family rooms, high speed internet avail. Smoke free property & No pets allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Parkside Inn - Bridgeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Mackinaw City
Parkside Hotel Bridgeside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing