We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterpark is ok for small children but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Chesterfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Waterpark is ok for small children but nothing special”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Their waterpark is more for younger kids. The other hotels waterparks were much nicer so we took the kids there. Beach is not maintained very well and the door handles to the rooms are cheap and look like they could be broken into easily. Rooms are ok but I think that the rooms at the Econo Lodge down the street were much nicer when we stayed there last year. Breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    25
    30
    25
    96
See reviews for
122
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

we specifically requested a smoke free room and when we checked in the room reeked of old cigarette smoke. Requested a room change and were told it was the last smoke free room they had so they brought up a smoke eater. The room still smelled of smoke but was tolerable. The view was exceptional.

Room Tip: Had friends stay at best western looked like a much better room for near the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paloman5955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Royal Oak, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

So we had a weekend road trip with our pup - dog friendly accommodations are hit or miss. This was a hit - awesome price - great view - the room was clean and in decent shape - older hotel but was perfectly fine. Great location. The beach is kind of a mess (just not being maintained) - but usable - we layed out and it's fine. They have a fire pit. Really for this price - we were very happy. The 'water park' is a bit of a stretch - they have a splash park or something like that. We don't have kids - but were just looking around and went into this section. It would be fun if you have little kids and they can play around in there. But don't expect a water slide or anything like that. The staff was super friendly - helpful with upgrade and recommending food picks. This was our last day and an impromptu stop to Mackinaw. It was great to be able to have the pup at the beach with us. Tho at this point in the trip she was thrilled with the airconditioned room.

Room Tip: Water front 3rd floor (which are room numbers in the 500's)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reed City, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The rooms were dirty with mold near the tub and cobwebs all over the room. Pop machine not working and their breakfast was the pits. No wifi in rooms and way over priced. The only good thing about this hotel was the location for seeing fireworks, we were able to watch them from our balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryBBaileySr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was not too bad for the price ($55 for the night) however, it was not what we thought it would be from the description/pictures. We chose this hotel because of the waterpark but my kids were very disappointed with it. It was June and no one was there! It was a big indoor splash pad in a separate building. They chose not to play there either and opted for the pool that was in a separate building. The pool was ok, but that building had a hot tub that was closed and wrapped in caution tape. There was a huge hot tub in the "waterpark" building that worked. There were no towel in the pool building, so we had to walk across the parking lot to the "waterpark" building to get towels. If it had been cold out, we would have been freezing! The room was ok. A little musty and dated. You enter the rooms from the outside of the building (motel style) with a standard key. Breakfast was the standard hotel breakfast, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, bagels, and so on. It is served at the hotel next door and it was packed! We had to eat outside and we noticed that several groups had to take the food back to their rooms. Will not be back there again. Glad that we did not pay much for the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, NC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I were so very disappointed in our stay because of the vast difference in the pictures shown in the AAA book and the reality. We booked for 3 nights and after one night were very eager to get out of there. The room was low standard, sink slow to drain, carpet was dirty and quite frankly I was afraid of bed bugs. When we arrived there were flying bugs throughout the air and dead ones in the stair wells and on the landings of each floor. The so called water park was a joke (look at the rust everywhere) and there was NO One in there that I ever saw in our 3 day stay. The breakfast offered was next door at the Quality motel and not even on Fairview motel property and it was adequate but certainly not high quality in our opinion. We booked here to see the lake and we did but with obstructive view. Staying there ruined our stay and we never plan to visit the area again.

Room Tip: Book into one of the newer area hotel/motels in order to have a comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank titlexvicr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This could possibly be the worst hotel I have EVER stayed at! Don't be swayed by the price, the "waterpark," the free wifi, or the free breakfast. It's an old, outdated hotel with little parking, no breakfast on location, NO WIFI except in the tiny check-in area, and no employee that is able or willing to help you. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the 500s or you'll be climbing 8 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellye p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.2 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#11 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark

Property: Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark
Address: 907 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500 (Formerly Aqua Grand Inn & Waterpark)
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark Hotel Mackinaw City
Fairview Beachfront Inn And Waterpark
Aqua Grand Hotel Waterpark
Aqua Grand Motel Waterpark

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing