We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT tour run by people who care” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ugly Anne Boat Cruises

Ugly Anne Boat Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.00*
and up
Mackinaw City Sunset Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Ugly Anne will start cruises for the 2016 season on May 27th and will have a daily 5pm history cruise and sunset cruise both going under the the magnificent Mackinac Bridge and departing from Mackinaw City through October 9th. We do not have public cruises on Tuesdays. Tours from Mackinac Island will be scheduled by charter only.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT tour run by people who care”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I took the sunset cruise on the Ugly Anne when we visited Mackinac Island June 2013. The boat is simple and the views are good but what makes this tour special is the warmth and passion of everyone associated with this family run organization. Small, intimate cruise narrated by folks who love this boat and Mackinac. "Mom" who handled the ticketing was also a hoot! They are just a joy!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gigi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    8
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grayling, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great sunset cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Thank you Captain Chris and Tom for a wonderful evening. We could not ask for more experienced and friendly staff to cruise with.
My husband and I really enjoyed our sunset crusie last night on Ugly Anne-who is anything but ugly. We had to cancel last year due to weather so had really been looking forward to our trip. The evening was perfect, the water smooth as glass. Our entire experience-from booking the date with Pat on the phone to getting off the boat at end of trip was just wonderful.
We have walked over the bridge many times, going under it was an amazing experience as well. We really appreciated the educational information you provided about the bridge and straits area too.
Our Ugly Anne experience rivals our Maui sunset cruises and for a lot less money. I am sure we will take other trips with you. Thank you again for a great evening.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mth58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A beautiful evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Just got back from our "Sunset Cruise" aboard the Ugly Anne. It was a great time. Captain Chris took us on a long wandering trip around and under the Mackinac Bridge. Chris's dad told stories. The Anne is a small boat, which was perfect for a quiet evening. The sunset over the water was beautiful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Cruise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Elizabeth and I joined Chris and Tom aboard Ugly Anne for a tour from Mackinac Island out to the Mackinac Bridge and back. It was a delightful trip, and both Chris and Tom provided us with a wealth of information on the bridge, the various islands and in particular on the Grand Hotel and its construction. We couldn’t have asked for better hosts! Time well spent and definitely worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great little operation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Nice little boat that took us around the Mackinac Bridge. A bit pricey for a little over an hour on the water, but Captain Chris and his dad were great and I would do this again just to give them the business.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gl0betr0tter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ugly Anne Boat Cruises also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Ugly Anne Boat Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing