We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Tour!”

Ugly Anne Boat Cruises
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Mackinaw City Sunset Cruise
More Info
and up
Mackinac Bridge History Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Come take a ride on Ugly Anne and experience the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Bridge like never before. Learn the about the over 80 shipwrecks, about the building of the Mackinac Bridge and the islands that are scattered throughout the Straits of Mackinac. On board is a tour guide that can answer any questions you have. Ugly Anne will start cruises for the season on Memorial Day weekend. We will have a daily 5pm history cruise and sunset cruise both going under the the magnificent Mackinac Bridge and departing from Mackinaw City through mid- October. We do not have public cruises on Tuesdays. Tours from Mackinac Island will be scheduled by charter only.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Our group of four went on the Ugly Anne tourboat on Labor Day 2012. We tried to go last year, but the trip was cancelled due to high winds. I have no idea why Searcher1316 thought the boat was ugly or apprehensive about the tour...the boat is freshly painted, very clean, safe, and comfortable to ride in. This is a family-owned operation; the mom sells the tickets, the dad is the tourguide, and the adult son is the captain and everyone is very friendly and wants you to have a great experience. Our tour under the bridge was incredible. I've lived in Michigan my entire life and didn't know all this information about the bridge Our tourguide individually showed us a map depicting the depths of the water in the Straits and much history about the building of the bridge and the area. There is also a video shown onboard for those wanting more information. This tour is well worth going on!

1  Thank RovingReporter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for Ugly Anne Boat Cruises
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

153 - 157 of 179 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

When we first bought our tickets we had no idea what we were getting into. We went to the dock to redeem our tickets we were scared about what we had gotten ourselves into we had our first glance at ugly Ann and it was ugly. Once we got the back story about the boat and started the tour it was amazing we felt like the staff engaged with us on a personal level they offered drinks it was a very enjoyable experience and would definitely do it again

1  Thank Searcher1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Went out on both the bridge cruise and the sunset cruise. Words can't describe the awesomeness and magnificence of floating under the Mackinaw Bridge in a "'small" boat. The weather cooperated and the boat was not so full that we couldn't move around and stretch a little. The Sunset Cruise also lived up to it's expectations. Perhaps they should change the name to the "Romantic Sunset Cruise" as it was a couples cruise the time we went out. Actually got a bright and full sunset although again it was the ride in a small boat out on the Straits that was the attraction. Heard about the company in a feature article in our local paper and it exceeded our expectations. The ongoing narration was interesting and informative, especially the numerous and wide variety of shipwrecks which litter the straits. The narration is only done during the day. Music is played during the sunset cruise. Take both tours - they are well worth your time

1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We reserved the Ugly Anne for my brother's suprise 60th birthday party, and we had so much fun. As soon as we boarded, my brother got to decide where we should go, and he chose to go under the Mackinac Bridge.

The crew had ice cold beer and wine available for purchase, and we brought along a few snacks.
By the end of the cruise, we were dancing. It was a memorable party! I'd highly recommend it.

Thank Mary Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I wish I could write a favorable review of my trip on the Ugly Anne around Mackinac Island. I was told by the Grand Hotel concierege to arrive around 12:15 P.M. on the dock for the 1:00 P.M. boarding, on Monday July 30, 2012.
I was solo this day, because my wife was working, and I thought what a novel way to explore the island by water. The cost appeared reasonable, around $22 per person for what was to be about an hour and a half tour.
I actually arrived at the dock around 11:30 A.M., got a cup of coffee and waited around, by myself for a while. The only designation of the tour was a sign posted on the deck with a phone number. I actually called the phone number at one point, which gave me a voice recording of the times of the tours.
The boat arrived at 12:35 P.M. and the two young attendees gave me the bad news that in order to tour there had to be a minimum of two people. I waited until 1:00 P.M. and no one else showed up, what a waste of my morning on Mackinac Island!!!
No where did it mention this fact and how is that I was punished for wanting to purchase a ticket. I spent 3 days on Mackinac Island, and this was the ONLY disappointment. What a shame, like I mentioned, I bet it would have been a nice trip.
Better luck to all of you

2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Straits_Area_Tour_Co, Owner at Ugly Anne Boat Cruises, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Hello 23MichaelD23,
I am sorry to hear that you had an unfavorable experiance with our company. I was actually one of the attendee's you spoke of in your review. You stated that you arrived at the dock at 11:30a for a 1pm tour, so I feel you blaming us for "wasting your morning," is not a fair attack. If I remember the day correctly it was raining when we were chatting with you on the dock and stated you are more than welcome to come on our 3pm tour, if we did not have anyone else show up for the 1pm tour, as we had others scheduled, but you stated you were unable to make it and departed the dock at 12:55pm. seeming to be very understanding of why we would need at least 2 people. Requiring a minimum of 2 people is something that we have chosen to do with our tours from Mackinac Island because of the costs associated with running the boat tours.

Again I am sorry that you did not have a good experiance with us and hope you will give us another chance when visiting Mackinac Island in the future.

Captain Chris West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ugly Anne Boat Cruises also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County

Been to Ugly Anne Boat Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing