We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ride and view of Mackinac Bridge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry

Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Lumberjack Show Tickets
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shepler's offers 5 different Lighthouse Cruises through the Straits of Mackinac. Each cruise is narrated by the Great Lakes Lighthouse Keepers Association. A portion of the proceeds from each cruise go to help with upkeep and restoration of area lighthouses. See the full schedule and buy tickets online.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Chino, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great ride and view of Mackinac Bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great ferry service! Well trained crews and well maintained ships. On the way to the Island they take a slight detour so you can view the bridge from the bottom, and some history of the bridge and area. They have an excellent system for handling baggage to/from the Island, and for valet parking/pick up.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,208
    255
    44
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Flushing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Not much you can say on a windy and rainy day. The folks at Shepler's were respectful, helpful, departed on time and got us both ways in a safe manner. Kudos

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff and great ride to the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Whenever we are in Mackinac, we always use Shepler's Ferry to get to the Island. Every experience with them has been positive. The staff is kind, courteous, and knowledgeable.

We try to go over on the Mighty Mac departure that takes a slight detour on the way to the Island to go under the Mackinac Bridge. Pretty incredible sight to be so close (and underneath) that beautiful brige.

I definitely recommend riding on the upper deck. You can't beat the view, but beware that it can get windy and if the lake is a bit rough that day, you might get sprayed, depending on where you sit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mfan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Convenient and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have always used Shepplers to ferry us over to the island. They are a well run business that seems to care for their customers. The location is extremely convenient from Mackinaw City and once on the island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cuda19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Breathtaking!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time going on a ferry and it was amazing! It was so much fun being on the ferry and not to mention the views! They did a very good job explaining what you saw and giving history! My favorite part was when we went near the bridge and they said how deep it was it was really neat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kittykat2287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing