We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”

Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
Lumberjack Show Tickets
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shepler's offers 5 different Lighthouse Cruises through the Straits of Mackinac. Each cruise is narrated by the Great Lakes Lighthouse Keepers Association. A portion of the proceeds from each cruise go to help with upkeep and restoration of area lighthouses. See the full schedule and buy tickets online.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Buffalo, NY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Incredibly organized, very well run, extremely friendly and efficient service. Didn't have to worry at all about our bags or our vehicle. Staff was outgoing, fun to deal with and inspired confidence that we chose Shepler's. The whole experience was excellent - a well-oiled machine.

Visited September 2013
1 Thank mph63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Bay City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
1,279 reviews
492 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,395 helpful votes
“Always Shepler's....”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Not much to write about Shepler's, except they are the number one ferry service to Mackinac Island, as far as I am concerned. We have taken all three ferries a number of times over the years, but always come back to Shepler's for their excellent service and ease of parking. We have taken the ferry from Mackinaw City and St. Ignace. Both routes offer something different, and it is a quick ride to the island. If you have never taken one out of St. Ignace, I highly recommend it, as you get to see a bit of the island you do not see from taking the ferry from Mackinaw City. Ferries always clean, well monitored, with friendly employees. Bathrooms at ferry dock clean and well lit. Good parking. I have done valet a couple of times and always had excellent results. Mostly have just parked ourselves, and that is great, too. They handle the baggage well, and are quick and efficient. $25 adult, or you can get a small discount-be sure and check their website, or the hotel you are staying with on the island. Outdoor and indoor seating.

Visited September 2013
1 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We paid for valet service for our car, but when we got back to the mainland, we found our car in a section not meant for valet and it was locked. My boyfriend had to go ask for the keys, which had to be radioed in. When my boyfriend asked about the valet service we had paid for, the manager was very rude and said it had obviously been valeted. Not the best customer service experience.

Besides that, not much to say. It was a way back and forth from the island.

Visited September 2013
1 Thank 934melanied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty M, Director of Sales at Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about the experience that you had on the dock with our company. We are saddened to hear that your visit was not all you had hoped it would be. But, even more important is that because of your review, we are making strides to improve our valet service and the service recovery when it does not go as planned. Since your visit, we have established new procedures for valeted cars. We hope that you will visit us in the future so we can show you how you have helped us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great service!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We took the bridge ride out in the morning. It was a beautiful clear morning. The ride and the service impeccable. It took a little extra time to get to the island with a view up close and under the bridge with a few facts about it along the way. They took our luggage to a secure area right away and took care of it until the porter on the island took it to our hotel. The boats were clean and nice. Note: there are no bathrooms on the boat. There are three ways you can park overnight. You can park yourself in a semi fenced area. This is what we did for 2 nights and had no problems. You can also valet park in a secured fenced area or an enclosed building. This is a top notch operation and they do customer service well. They were running a special online for 3 adults for $62. It was a good deal and perfect for us.

Visited September 2013
Thank rdtripmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Combined Locks, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great foggy ride”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Rode on Shelplers due to local recomendation. Not disappointed. The ride under the bridge is breathtaking. Our approach to the island was bathed in fog. Actually quite neat. The boat was clean and comfortable. The service professional. I would recommend to anyone.

Visited September 2013
Thank Wrigley48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County

Been to Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing