We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast ride to the Island”

Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Lumberjack Show Tickets
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Shepler's offers 5 different Lighthouse Cruises through the Straits of Mackinac. Each cruise is narrated by the Great Lakes Lighthouse Keepers Association. A portion of the proceeds from each cruise go to help with upkeep and restoration of area lighthouses. See the full schedule and buy tickets online.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Quick ride to the island right from downtown Mackinac City. Like being able to walk around the city and then catch the ferry. Great to sit on the top deck, view the bridge, and take pictures as you head to the Island. Get your tickets online and like them on Facebook to get discounts.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank BillB697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mackinac island"
in 577 reviews
"mighty mac"
in 142 reviews
"overflow lot"
in 27 reviews
"great service"
in 144 reviews
"grand hotel"
in 89 reviews
"great ride"
in 127 reviews
"shuttle service"
in 37 reviews
"free shuttle"
in 34 reviews
"carriage ride"
in 36 reviews
"return trip"
in 78 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 89 reviews
"top deck"
in 72 reviews
"your luggage"
in 49 reviews
"st ignace"
in 44 reviews
"on line"
in 44 reviews
"smooth ride"
in 48 reviews
"overnight parking"
in 34 reviews
Filter

2,159 - 2,163 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our first trip out to the island. We chose Shepler's because they have great convenient parking. You can choose daily or overnight. You are greeted at the gate by a very friendly person who guides you where to park. We bought a buy one get one package, $10, at our hotel so we saved $15. The staff and crew was very good and made it a nice trip over. If you take the early cruise they take a side trip over to the Straits Of Mackinac bridge and go underneath and stop for everyone to take pictures. It was a beautiful day so we got some great pictures. The return trip was just as nice. If you have a bike and you want to bring it they will transport it for an additional $8. Rentals on the island are around $25-$30 a day.

Date of experience: July 2013
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Mackinaw City has the best firework display in northern Michigan. For the past three summers I have been aboard a Sheplers ferry boat to view the fireworks from the water. It is spectacular. There are no obstructions to the view. It's just beautiful. Everyone should try it at least one year in their lifetime.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank Gingerop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We bought our tickets on the Shepler's website. The workers at Shepler's it so easy to redeem our tickets, as soon as they saw us walking up they ushered us over got our tickets, gave our daughter stickers and showed us where to wait for the ferry. Boarding and unloading the ferry was easy. The ride was smooth and quick! Everyone working at Shepler's' was friendly and helpful! So happy we chose the Shepler ferry!
Tip* if you plan to ride on top level with wind your hair - it's fun but bring a brush!

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank TCD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very enjoyable transportation from the main land to the Island. Kind of pricey, but all the ferrys are about the same price. You can ride in an enclosed cabin or on top of cabin. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: June 2013
1  Thank foemmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Saint Ignace, Mackinac County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Shepler's Mackinac Island Ferry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing