We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, simple, clean and excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lighthouse View Motel
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Affordable, simple, clean and excellent location.”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed here three nights in September. At less than $60/night, we got a very nice room, clean and comfortable. Check-in/check-out was easy, owner was very friendly. Places to sit outside your room, swimming pool and free wi-fi. That's pretty much the extent of the perks, but what more do you need when you've come to Mackinac to tour. The location is perfect. On the quieter north side of town, everything is within easy walking distance and you are just across the street from the park and waterfront from where you can see the bridge which is beautiful at sunset.

The one downside to our reservation is that we booked a room that was suppose to have a view of the lighthouse, the lake, and the bridge. We would have had that if not for the line of tall trees blocking the view. But that was a minor thing considering we could just walk across the street to all of it and the motel was so nice in its simplicity. Would definately choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miladel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    41
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
60
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We stay here each year. We always stay in the ground floor 2 bed jacuzzi suite because you have nobody above you. It is on the less congested end of town and you can walk everywhere from the hotel.

The beach, lighthouse and lake are right across the street & the fort, shopping and food just down the road.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muddychick123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Me, my husband and 2 children stayed there from Aug 5th - Aug 9th and was very happy with the motel. The staff was VERY friendly and had a great atmosphere. The rooms were very clean. My daugther left her favorite stuffed animal in the room when we left to go home and they are going to mail it to her. Great customer service!!! The pool was fantastic. We all had fun swimming. My son would never get in a pool until we stayed there and we had a hard time getting him out of it when we were done swimming. The pool and hot tub were very clean also. I have no complaints about this motel. I will definantly tell friends and family about it and will definantly stay there again. We only paid $89 a night for our room which is a great price! We loved how the motel was located across from the lighthouse and water. We walked down to the water and watched the sunset.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Six Lakes, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night at peak season, got a room for $89!! Super clean room, very friendly staff. Wished they had a breakfast, but the price is worth it. Will definitely stay there again. Really enjoyed the proximity to the bridge and we were able to walk around town. A happy find.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This motel is very clean. We stayed on 7/5/12 - 7/7/12. We paid $89 per night. Our room was spotless, it had two double beds. We were on the 2nd floor. We could see the Mackinaw Bridge, but it was obstructed by some tall pine trees. The beach is right across the street, along with a party store. We walked to the downtown area, and Mackinaw Crossings Mall. The hotel has an enclosed pool, and a small hot tub. The room has a coffee pot, but next time I would bring more coffee, and my own coffee cups. For the price, and location, this hotel is wonderful. Parking is cramped, but we stayed when the hotel was fully booked. Don't hesitate, it's a good hotel.

Room Tip: I liked the balcony, with the chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank zenMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at this motel for 3 nights and enjoyed it immensely. The rooms are a little small for 4 people but are very clean and well kept. The bathroom was immaculate. This hotel is a few blocks from main street and just across the street from a park and the bridge. Nice views, quiet location, and a nice break from the usual hustle and bustle. The pool house and hot tub were wonderful! They are well maintained and very clean.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room and they were easily accessible. The ground floor rooms didnt seem to hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davisck5014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I are frequent viitors of the Mackinaw area. We have stayed at three different places on the mainland and Lighthouse View Motel has by far been our most visited (more than a dozen times is a conservative guess). While it is not a 5-star facility, it is my pick for the biggest bang for the buck for any facility in the area. The rates are some of the best--others can easily be twice as much. We regularly go during off season around our anniversary; school has begun and the only people visiting are adults.

It is a great locale if you wish to tour parts of the U.P. It is near the Mackinac Bridge for easy access to expressway and is directly across the street from a spectacular view of the Mackinac Bridge (bring your camera!). If you are looking to do a day trip to Mackinac Island it is a piece of cake as ferry docks are just a few blocks away.

The motel itself has a variety of rooms--ground floor, second floor, hot tub/sauna, north facing toward water and bridge, etc.--all I would classify as basic. If you're requiring spectacular views from your room, look elsewhere. The catagories they use for the kind of view, while technically true, to some people it may seem a bit of a stretch for some of the rooms. However, if you're requiring a reasonable place to stay at a wallet friendly price, this is it. For a motel, they have a VERY nice indoor pool with attached hot tub. Some HOTELS don't have a pool space as nice as this one.

I gave this facility 4 stars, not so much for the quality of the room itself, but for everything it offers with price being the biggest factor compared to what you could be spending elsewhere.

In short, we would not return to Lighthouse View Motel if we didn't think it was a value.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid the "splurge" of selecting a room based on it's view description, as there isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichiganPhotoRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
1.2 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse View Motel

Property: Lighthouse View Motel
Address: 699 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9693
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lighthouse View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is located on scenic North Huron Avenue directly across from the Mackinaw Point Lighthouse and Lake Shore Park. This beautiful area of Mackinaw City boasts fantastic views of the Straits of Mackinac, Mackinac Island and the Mackinac Bridge. People come from far and wide to enjoy the beach, stroll the lakeside sidewalk or picnic in the park. In the evening watch the spectacular sunsets and the lighting of "Big Mac". Enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub June thru September. The Lighthouse View Motel is now open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lighthouse View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing