We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lighthouse View Motel
Nearby Hotels
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont by Wyndham Mackinaw City(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
$219
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vindel Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$125
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach House(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$286
$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$178
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveler rating
53
46
14
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
46
14
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and hot tubmackinac bridgeexcellent locationstay an extra nightshepler ferrywithin walking distancerooms are smallolder placelight housebed was comfortableflat screen tvwater pressureoff seasonnice poolwould stay here againlakecoupon
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 118 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Me, my husband and 2 children stayed there from Aug 5th - Aug 9th and was very happy with the motel. The staff was VERY friendly and had a great atmosphere. The rooms were very clean. My daugther left her favorite stuffed animal in the room when we left to go home and they are going to mail it to her. Great customer service!!! The pool was fantastic. We all had fun swimming. My son would never get in a pool until we stayed there and we had a hard time getting him out of it when we were done swimming. The pool and hot tub were very clean also. I have no complaints about this motel. I will definantly tell friends and family about it and will definantly stay there again. We only paid $89 a night for our room which is a great price! We loved how the motel was located across from the lighthouse and water. We walked down to the water and watched the sunset.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrisha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night at peak season, got a room for $89!! Super clean room, very friendly staff. Wished they had a breakfast, but the price is worth it. Will definitely stay there again. Really enjoyed the proximity to the bridge and we were able to walk around town. A happy find.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This motel is very clean. We stayed on 7/5/12 - 7/7/12. We paid $89 per night. Our room was spotless, it had two double beds. We were on the 2nd floor. We could see the Mackinaw Bridge, but it was obstructed by some tall pine trees. The beach is right across the street, along with a party store. We walked to the downtown area, and Mackinaw Crossings Mall. The hotel has an enclosed pool, and a small hot tub. The room has a coffee pot, but next time I would bring more coffee, and my own coffee cups. For the price, and location, this hotel is wonderful. Parking is cramped, but we stayed when the hotel was fully booked. Don't hesitate, it's a good hotel.

Room Tip: I liked the balcony, with the chairs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank zenMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed at this motel for 3 nights and enjoyed it immensely. The rooms are a little small for 4 people but are very clean and well kept. The bathroom was immaculate. This hotel is a few blocks from main street and just across the street from a park and the bridge. Nice views, quiet location, and a nice break from the usual hustle and bustle. The pool house and hot tub were wonderful! They are well maintained and very clean.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room and they were easily accessible. The ground floor rooms didnt seem to have as nice of views and the parking spots were right out their windows. I would ask for second floor again because of this!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davisck5014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I are frequent viitors of the Mackinaw area. We have stayed at three different places on the mainland and Lighthouse View Motel has by far been our most visited (more than a dozen times is a conservative guess). While it is not a 5-star facility, it is my pick for the biggest bang for the buck for any facility in the area. The rates are some of the best--others can easily be twice as much. We regularly go during off season around our anniversary; school has begun and the only people visiting are adults.

It is a great locale if you wish to tour parts of the U.P. It is near the Mackinac Bridge for easy access to expressway and is directly across the street from a spectacular view of the Mackinac Bridge (bring your camera!). If you are looking to do a day trip to Mackinac Island it is a piece of cake as ferry docks are just a few blocks away.

The motel itself has a variety of rooms--ground floor, second floor, hot tub/sauna, north facing toward water and bridge, etc.--all I would classify as basic. If you're requiring spectacular views from your room, look elsewhere. The catagories they use for the kind of view, while technically true, to some people it may seem a bit of a stretch for some of the rooms. However, if you're requiring a reasonable place to stay at a wallet friendly price, this is it. For a motel, they have a VERY nice indoor pool with attached hot tub. Some HOTELS don't have a pool space as nice as this one.

I gave this facility 4 stars, not so much for the quality of the room itself, but for everything it offers with price being the biggest factor compared to what you could be spending elsewhere.

In short, we would not return to Lighthouse View Motel if we didn't think it was a value.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid the "splurge" of selecting a room based on it's view description, as there isn't much to see from any angle. Pick based on price and availability. If you are concerned about foot traffic to and from the pool, avoid the two ground floor rooms under the west stairwell. If you are staying during off season, however, this may not be an issue as kids are likely not there.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichiganPhotoRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews