We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Big disappointment” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    87
    125
    135
    155
See reviews for
269
187
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TORONTO
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed thesubstantial breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank HOLLY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My family and I had reservations for this hotel for two nights; we decided before the day was over we were not staying here for another night. Upon walking into the room, it had an unattractive odor to it. The bathroom area was very small, cramped, and falling apart, not to mention the ventilation in the bathroom had no cover so the light bulb and dust were clearly visible. The heating system was difficult to maintain a comfortable temperature, one way was far too warm, the other freezing in a matter of minutes.

I tried to speak to the front desk staff in attempts to get a refund or credit for the second night of our reservation. I voiced my frustrations and concerns, and she had an unprofessional and condescending attitude with me the entire time. I will most definitely be contacting hotels.com (where we made our reservation) to try and get a refund or credit....and we will most definitely never come back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie_zoltowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Croswell, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We took a vacation this summer and toured Michigan. Evrything during the trip was perfect EXCEPT our stay at his hotel. During the whole trip we stayed at three hotels and ironically this one was the most expensive one when we made our resevations. Rooms look neglected, and just give a cheap vibe, kind of like that they are clean, but have not been worked on for 20 years. The TV was old, and the picture was really fuzzy. The only advantage is the location, on the beach, although the hotel doesn't really have it's own beach, but, as we were told has access to the neighboring hotel's beach. The friends we traveled with liked the hotel pool, which we personally didn't try as we thought it was weird - a glassed-in building in the middle of the hotel parking lot, just didn't feel right, but they said that the pool itself was great. The breakfast was OK and the personnel was nice so I guess it wasn't all that bad, but if we were to go back to Mackinaw City we would go to a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex and Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Overall the room was poorly maintained. The walls had poorly patched holes. The tub was very stained. The sink over flow drain was disgusting. The bathroom door was broken. Even the cord on the hair dryer was horribly dirty! The room entry door did not close tightly. The wifi didn't work. The balcony creaked loudly when you walked on it. The sliding door was extremely difficult to open and close. The furnishings were old and worn. The bedding was also very old and worn. When we arrived the bed was covered in pet hair. The room was very stale smelling. The hotel grounds showed no signs of being maintained on a regular basis as there was a "weed" tree outside our window that was almost six feet tall. The outside of the building itself was covered in spider webs and was very dirty. Overall I'd give this hotel zero stars and would not stay there again if they paid me to do so.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.2 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Super 8 Bridgeview of Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview

Property: Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview
Address: 825 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watch the ferry activities in the nearby harbor from your balcony. Enjoy the breezes off the lake and the beautiful sunrises over Lake Huron. Our new indoor pool and spa offers you opportunities to relax. Our Lakeside Restaurant features an in season Breakfast Buffet and Prime Rib, Authentic Mexican Cuisine, Fresh Whitefish Entrees and Hot Grinder Sandwiches along with your favorite cocktails. See You this Summer! April thru November ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Days Inn Mackinaw City - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Mackinaw City-Lakeview Hotel Mackinaw City
Days Inn Lakeview
Mackinaw City Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing