We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to a Piece of Michigan History”

McGulpin Point Lighthouse & Historic Site
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Emmet County owns the historic McGulpin Point Lighthouse, which protected shipping on the Straits of Mackinac against storms, fog and rocks between 1869 and 1906. It was purchased by the county in 2008, which reopened McGulpin to the public with a gala celebration on May 30, 2009. The site is approximately 10 acres and is a half mile north of the Headlands. It includes 336 feet of shoreline on the Straits with a commanding view of the Mackinac Bridge. Trail to the Straits includes new interpretive signage coming in Summer 2015! Beautifully maintained grounds and interior. There is always something new at McGulpin Point!
Sterling Heights
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit to a Piece of Michigan History”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife & I visited this Historic Lighthouse. It may be a little out of the way, But it's worth every moment when you get there.

Marion jurewicz

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeaconMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    97
    15
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Really Worth it”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Unless you like lighthouses, and not for a photgraphic purpose this one is for you. If you are hoping to get another lighthouse/bridge style photograph, don't waste your time. The area is pretty much filled with trees, has a very tiny parking lot, and wasn't really worth the 2.5 miles out of my way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“AnotherTreasure of Emmet County, Michigan”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This recently restored lighthouse looks out onto the Straits of Mackinaw on the west side of the bridge. The interiors have been expertly furnished to allow the visitor to relive what it was like when the first lighthouse keeper and his family lived there. The light itself is a modern LED model that is back in working order. The housing that surrounds and supports the light is a work of art in itself. It was also part of the restoration and was donated by Tom Moran of the Moran Iron Works. Well worth a visit when you are in the Mackinaw City area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice view and a short trail”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It has a nice view to the bridge. A nice short trail to the lakeshore, where the bridge can be more visible.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ithacanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go out of your way for McGulpin's Lighthouse”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This area is just west of the downtown area of Mackinaw City. So fee to park or to tour the lighthouse although there is a donation jar. The lighthouse and the living quarters is restored in period furniture. There is a movie upstairs that shows many of the wrecks on the Great Lakes and I thought it was quite interesting to see. We climbed the short but narrow distance to the top of the lighthouse but could not get outside as you had to climb through a lower window. I particularly enjoyed the display board that showed all the lighthouses and the area and how far their light could be seen. You certainly can see why there were so many wrecks - many blind spots. We took the short walk through the woods to the shore - beware, there is a Native American cut-out and I didn't see him. I think everyone heard me scream :)

Afterwards, drive to Darrows for a slice of pie.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGulpin Point Lighthouse & Historic Site also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to McGulpin Point Lighthouse & Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing