We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Must Stop" on our annual trip Up North”
Review of Pancake Chef

Pancake Chef
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
detroit
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A "Must Stop" on our annual trip Up North”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Small town, local place with delicious food. This restaurant is on the list of places we must get to when on our trip over to Mackinac Island. It is usually off season, so the crowds are down. I adore the pancakes and order off menu to get the combo I want. This time I got pancakes as part of a breakfast platter and there was so much food I almost had to be rolled out. Huge portions, great food and super friendly staff. Love Pancake Chef!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stacey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    215
    103
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Allenton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“quick lunch”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped for lunch before heading home. This was very good with a buffet for breakfast/lunch. Our granddaughter enjoyed going here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankenmuth, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“GREAT food!”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

If your love pancakes this is the place to go in Mackinaw! They have a variety of pancakes to choose from among a few other selections! The ONLY thing about this place is they are outdated with the furniture and I wish they would buy new tables and chairs. For bigger people you won't be comfortable in the chairs. We only get take out now but would LOVE to eat in house if they would only buy new chairs!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
234 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great place.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

It has been at least 30 years since I first visited the Pancake Chef, and it still was like I remembered. Same family owns this place, and the breakfast is still great.

I had the blue berry pancakes, very good.

Located directly on the main street, across from the ferry to Mackinac Island. Easy access, and plenty of parking out front.

I will for sure be having breakfast here again upon my return.

Keep up the great work.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hdslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Wound up going there twice - once before we went over to Mackinac Island, once after we got back. Food - especially the pancakes - were great! We thought it a little pricey for breakfast, but then saw the quality and quantity of food and considered it a good value, especially in this tourist destination. Mary, our waitress both times, was very friendly and helpful with suggestions for sights. She remembered us when we came back and was excited that we had a nice time on the Island. Other patrons seemed just as welcomed by her and regular visitors were greeted like old friends. Nice atmosphere, great food and good location across the street from Shepler's Ferry. What more could you want? A+

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mph63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pancake Chef also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Pancake Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing