We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beachcomber Motel on the Water
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northwinds Motel(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise Beach Motel(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
100
36
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
36
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitbagelsswing setlake huronbon fireshave stayed at severalbeautiful viewclose to towncontinental breakfastevery morningsmall beachplenty of chairsqueen bed roominstant oatmeallakefront roomclean roomsreasonable rates
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 141 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a great and inexpensive place to stay. The location is quiet, the rooms are clean and the owner is very friendly and helpful. We have stayed in many hotels in Mackinaw City over the years and this is where we will be staying in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RPeake2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This motel has nice reviews and we were looking forward to trying it out.... However after "reserving" a room on the hotel's own website we were later informed the lakefront 2 queen bed room we had "reserved" was not available and we were offered a courtside room with a single queen.... Now what bothers me is that after you enter the dates you would like to stay...the website page takes you to a list of room options based on the dates you selected for your stay...After you choose the room type you would like...you are then REQUIRED to enter your credit card information... including the exp date and the 3 digit security code... I've done this before on other hotel websites but I've always actually gotten the room I was reserving. -But evidently with this place...they make you THINK the room is available during the dates you enter...but it may NOT be....That alone wouldn't bother me...but the fact that they require you to enter your credit card info. including the security code is VERY DISTURBING to me... If it is intended to only be an "inquiry" as to whether they have your room choice on the dates you select then you should NOT have to enter your credit card and security code just to have them turn you down... I would never had entered that personal info. onto any website if I had felt it was just for an "inquiry"..... I'm pretty sure the buttons I clicked on said "reserve now" and "make reservation"... not "inquire" about availability...

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
7  Thank beachlover1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberMackinaw, Owner at Beachcomber Motel on the Water, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

The Beachcomber Motel would like to apologize for any inconvenience you encountered with your online reservation. We would also like to assure you that at no time was your personal information vulnerable. As we accept or reject reservation requests, the only information visible to us is the last four digits of your card and expiration date.

Our establishment is a small motel, and our online reservation system is not directly on our website but is hosted by a third party in conjunction with our official Mackinaw City Visitors Bureau. Due to our small inventory of lakefront rooms, availability can change on a moment’s notice as reservations are also taken directly over the telephone.

Again, we are sorry that you were unable to book the room of your choice for your planned stay. We would love to be able to accommodate any future request you may have, and you are always welcome to contact us directly by telephone to make your travel arrangements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I am pleased to say that our stay at the Beachcomber was the best decision on our anniversary trip! For a reasonable price, we were placed in a room with perfect view of the bridge and lake. It was so nice that we decided to extend our stay for another night. The same room was not available, so the manager upgraded us to a different room without the additional cost. Same beautiful view! The manager and owner were very friendly, informative, and accommodating. Both rooms were clean, beds were firm and comfortable. The breakfast they provide is great for the price--bagels, english muffins, cereal, oatmeal, coffee, and orange & apple juice. Their beach area has plenty of seating available and a fire pit to use. Overall we were more than satisfied and plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was an excellent value and wonderful one night stop on our Michigan tour.
Karen and Dick were excellent hosts, our room was well appointed and when we discovered a water leak in the bathroom Dick was quick to come look at it and Karen relocated us and our belongings to another room immediately. Their suggestions for dining were spot on, Keyhole and Darrows are he place to go! We enjoyed bicycling on the path into town and around Mackinaw city, the sunrise over the lake and time on the beach. Great location, clean, excellent value, terrific hosts and a complimentary morning breakfast, what more can you ask for!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cola6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you like to be alone next to lake Huron, and see the Mighty Mac, and if you have binocular's to see the Grand Hotel on the porch, this is for you! Queen bed was comfortable and the kitchen had all we needed, though we made a trip into the local store for supplies, we were good to go!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews