We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Motel on the Water

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mackinaw City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beachcomber Motel on the Water
Save
You added Beachcomber Motel on the Water to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
SE, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well located, clean and well kept. More relaxing than one of the big commercial places. Great value for your money! Nice beach with bonfire pits and white sand. Close to town and the Island ferries. Very helpful staff. This was my first stay here, but I will stay there again!

Room Tip: Evan the courside rooms are just steps from the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    28
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We travel to mackinaw city every year, family of 13 - 4 generations. This was our first time to stay at the Beachcomber and I'm certain we'll all be back. Clean, pleasant and very helpful staff, light breakfast and great coffee! Walking distance to downtown, great bonfire pit right on the beach with views of the Mackinaw Bridge and Mackinaw Island and barge traffic. Couldn't ask for anything else as far as I'm concerned.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit Lake, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

VERY clean and well kept property. Great value too. Enjoyed the break from super-commercialized hotels.

We loved the view of lake with a deck on our room. Our 11 year old daughter could play by the water while we suervised from our deck. Beach is really nice.

Room very clean with easy access to tourist shopping and eating. A couple blocks down the street from ferry launch to Macinaw Island.

Good continental breakfast helped us to get going quickly in the mornng. We will come again.

Room Tip: Loved the lakefront room, made it worry free to let my daughter explore the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgis, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We recently stayed 4 nights at the beachcomber and had a great time. The staff was 1st rate rooms were well kept and very clean. All of this and a campfire at the beach every nite. We will definitely be back next year

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bulldogfan_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Nothing fancy but clean rooms and helpful staff. Dog Friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GINA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband, I and rented the cottage for our 1 year anniversary, we had a great time. We brought our dog with us and we had more than enough room for the 3 of us. The cottage was so warm and cozy and had everything we needed for our stay. The staff was awesome and very helpful and accomodating to us. They were so warm and welcoming and they treated us like we were the only ones there. They had great reccomendations on Sites to see and restaurants to eat at. The location was perfect and very close to downtown where the shopping area and restaurants are, and the view was AMAZING! The best is at night when you can see the brige and the Island lit up. We would both reccomend this place and will definately be returning in the future!

Room Tip: Rent the cottage!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PinkDiamond2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is our third stay at the Beachcomber. We volunteer at the Fort in Mackinaw City and aren't always able to get free housing, so we go here instead. It is older, small, but right on the beach. The rooms are a little on the small side, but the queen rooms are bigger than the doubles. We don't spend a lot of time in the room, so it doesn't matter. My son likes the beds being close together so he can jump from one to the other easily. The furniture has been updated, the bathrooms are older, but clean. The rooms have always been very clean, carpet, bedding, everything. They have lots of extra pillows and blankets in the room. They even have the old fashioned pop bottle opener on the door frame, my kids got a real kick out of that. The rooms has tv and a fridge. Breakfast is bagels, English muffins, coffee, tea, juice and hot chocolate. My daughter is on the picky side, so we either bring something with us or go to the local bakery for her. Some rooms do face the beach and there is a cottage. Most are courtside rooms, but the beach is right there. There are fire pits and grills. They also have a covered picnic table area, swings and beach chairs on the beach. You can see the Island and bridge. The owners are very, very nice. They remember me every time I call. It's one of the few small, family owned motels up there. The rates are unbelievable, average $50-$60 per night in the summer, weekdays. They don't have a pool, but you can use the one at the hotel next door. You can get internet if you sit outside your room or in the covered picnic table area, or go into town. If you are looking for a modern room with up to date bathroom, you won't find it here. But you will get a clean room, very nice and helpful staff, and a great rate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mackinaclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.1 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachcomber Motel on the Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachcomber Motel on the Water

Property: Beachcomber Motel on the Water
Address: 1011 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9797
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally owned and operated on beautiful Lake Huron in the Straits of Mackinac. Near downtown and Mackinac Island ferries. Beautiful views of Mackinac Bridge and Mackinac Island. Jacuzzi rooms available, as well as lakefront rooms and housekeeping cottage that sleeps four. Dogs 20 pounds and under are welcome - call for approval before booking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing