We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a relaxing getaway!”
Review of Northwinds Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Northwinds Motel
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Reviewed July 28, 2011

As always, this motel ..........along with the other 2 sister motels next door provides a traveler with everything they need.
The rooms are clean and quiet and even some have the knotty pine paneling if you are looking for that "up north" feeling!
The grounds are immaculate with seating by the beach to enjoy your morning coffee.
The indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub are clean, spacious and refreshing.
The breakfast is simple, if juice, cereal and coffee are all you require.
Prices are extremely reasonable and the view of the bridge is perfect!
Why spend alot of $$$ to shower an sleep.............when you can spend it having so much fun in town.
Park outside your door, free ice and pop machines, friendly, helpful staff and a no worries destination!!!! Thanks again for a wonderful getaway.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oxengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

I normally book hotel reservations on a hotels website but this time I figured I would try Hotwire! Well..this was a mistake! I understand that $68 per night doesn't afford extreme comfort but....this hotel stinks of old mildew and must, the beds were awful, the blanket was made out of sandpaper, air conditioner was so loud and clunking it was unreal! Tiny rooms, no coffee maker, no refrigerator, old musty shower with tile from 1948, filthy dirty blinds, smashed bugs on the walls and ceilings, and again, it STANK. We noticed the room service menu and then realized there is NO PHONE in the room! I booked 3 nights through Hotwire thinking we would have a wonderful time! We drove six hours to get there and left Mackinaw City after one terrible night. I have asthma and the smell in that room was so bad I can't describe it. We ran the air conditioner for seven hours and it didn't help! If you're traveling to Mackinaw City I strongly suggest that you rent a room at a better hotel. I regret trying to save money and I regret booking through Hotwire as they would not refund me even the last day ($68!) nor would the greedy old woman that runs the place! She blamed Hotwire and said they wouldn't refund me and when I called Hotwire they blamed her and said that the hotel does not offer refunds. Beware! My vacation would have been saved had I just driven out there and looked for myself!

Room Tip: Don't stay here! It needs to be demolished and rebuilt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maxine123400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I selected this motel because it ranked high in tripadvisor ratings, but have learned to look at numbers of reviews now. This is just the basics. It is somewhat misleading because if you book at this motel, the continental breakfast is at the next hotel over and the pool is one more motel over. In other words, it's a trio of motels run by one office. The rooms are dated with nothing extra. Old towels, hard mattresses, plumbing that works but just the standard. My husband is 6'3" and he couldn't use the shower as it was too low. The high point- it is on the beach and they do have a campfire pit and BBQ grils you can use. There's also the advantage of having your car right outside your door. Breakfast was just bagels and mini muffins, cereal, juice. We opted to go to a pancake house instead. It was only $80 for 2 queen beds so the price was cheap.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibarbaraMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

booked our vacation at the northwind motel for 28 people and the staff was amazing and very helpful! the view was amazing from this motel. the rooms were clean and the picnic/ fire pit area suited our group just fine! had the best time here and would recommend it to anyone. if your not the type of person who needs the finest place to stay well you will be more then happy to stay here. we recieved free shuttle to the island dock to get the ferry and free shuttle to the casino. can't wait to book my next vacation back there at the northwind motel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kellyannflorez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

After we left the Anchor Inn, we found very nice people at Northwinds Motel on the lake. The rooms are clean, staff very pleasant, pool clean, hot tub clean and hot. There is a nice beach, a place for a fire and we watched the fire works over the lake. We stayed three nights and will go again. Recommend this motel to everyone coming to Mackinaw City.
They also had a very nice breakfast available.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank feebie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

My aunt and I recently stayed at the Northwinds prior to a day touring Mackinac Island. Very comfortable room right on Lake Huron. We were treated to a spectacular sunrise right from our front door. Nice continental breakfast. Very reasonable rates compared to the "name brand" motels in the area. Bright, clean rooms. Ours had a microwave and fridge. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GerriS63_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.5 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 40 in Mackinaw City
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#21 of 40 in Mackinaw City
649 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Capri Motel
Capri Motel
#36 of 40 in Mackinaw City
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Beach Motel
Sunrise Beach Motel
#30 of 40 in Mackinaw City
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Motel
Rainbow Motel
#5 of 40 in Mackinaw City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwinds Motel

Address: 11472 US Hwy 23, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-8709
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range: $76 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Northwinds Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Northwinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing