We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainbow Motel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Emmett, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Restful Resort”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We chose this resort from the tripadvisor ratings. Visiting after labor day, we found this small family owned resort to be everything we were looking for. Great location for easy cycling to Mackinac Island ferry shuttles. Short walk into town to restaurants and shopping. Very quiet, extremely clean and comfortable. Very friendly owners and staff. Indoor pool, pleasant outdoor area. Highly recommend, we hope to be regulars here. Such an improvement from the big chains.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    71
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
70
84
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Due to late reservations we had to switch rooms on our second night. The first, a standard king, was small but clean and comfortable. I'm 5' tall so the shower was fine but hubby didn't fit. Our second room after the switch was a king deluxe. Imagine our surprise at seeing a small sitting area! Four windows was a treat, too. Again, clean and comfortable. Flat screen TVs in each room and the wifi worked perfectly once I called the desk for the password. We'd definitely stay here again!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, very reasonably priced. Has gazebo and propane grill available. Very quaint. Free coffee. Nice owners. Will definitely go back to this place. Shuttle to casino available, too. Great location, very reasonably priced. Has gazebo and propane grill available. Very quaint. Free coffee. Nice owners. Will definitely go back to this place. Shuttle to casino available, too.

Room Tip: Room 123 right off the street and has shade. Good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union Pier, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Rainbow Motel with our two kids (11 & 15) for Labor Day Weekend visit to the Mackinaw area. We parked the car right outside the room and didn't move it for three days. Two of the three ferry docks to the island are within 2 blocks. Restaurants, attractions, and various shops are next door, across the street, and within 3-4 blocks all around. Yet, we were amazed how quiet our room was. Inside our little room we did not hear any voices, traffic, plumbing, any noise whatsoever. It is a small property so the pool, lobby and vending facilities are just steps from your room which we really like. The room, pool/spa facilities, and grounds are spotless. The beds were more comfortable than average - we slept very well. Three times we used both the indoor/outdoor spas and indoor pool after much touring/biking/walking and were delighted that we had it all to ourselves. The front desk staff were friendly and very generous with discount coupons and useful info. One morning when we had slept late, the cleaning lady was a little too persistent checking to see if we had left yet and it was only 10:30am. Also, take heed that the décor and furnishings are outdated and there are some cosmetic repair issues. Most noticeable were some cracked tiles in the bathroom. We had no problem overlooking it when considering the ideal location, cleanliness, and quiet atmosphere. We would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KDHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights right before Labor Day weekend. The rate was $41 a night - it would have been 3 times higher over the weekend. Good: room was clean, A/C worked well, ice machine, within walking distance of downtown and ferries to M Island, mattress was comfortable. Bad: wifi service did not work the entire time we were there, very tiny bathroom with persistent odor of raw sewage, TV was also tiny with poor picture quality, no breakfast. Ugly: the tiny room and its decor were just old .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
1,279 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,383 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I agree with all the good reviews that this small motel gets. It is outdated-but in good shape, by and large. Everything worked well and they had good lighting in the room (most places, new and larger do not have good lighting, IMHO). The beds were very comfortable, the room large enough (we had two doubles) to move around in, great water pressure in the shower.

The grounds are lovely-pink and white flowers everywhere. A very nice indoor pool; quiet, clean, attractive, well maintained property, with plenty of outdoor seating. Every room has a bench outside their door. You park right outside your door.

Wholly recommend! Staff is very nice, too!

Our rates were not as good as others have stated and I do think $100 a night too much, but there isn't anywhere else in MC that has better rates for a weekend night, in a great location, that has the reputation this property receives.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tymetraveler222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is by far the cleanest motel I have stayed in the rooms are little outdated but the price makes it for a nice vacation stayed for two nights for less then 150.00. Its in a great location close to downtown, the management is great the grounds are set surrounded by beautiful flowers and very quiet at night, no running up and down the hallways like the bigger hotels.If I ever go back this will be my motel of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bonjovi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#15 of 39 in Mackinaw City
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Property: Rainbow Motel
Address: 602 South Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rainbow Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing