We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family place to stay when visiting Mackinac Island!”
Review of Rainbow Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rainbow Motel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect family place to stay when visiting Mackinac Island!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We were so pleased to find the Rainbow Motel when staying in Mackinaw City. The value far exceeded many neighboring chain hotels. The rooms were clean and comfortable (not fancy). The service- front desk, housekeeping- were so helpful and friendly. Grounds included many benches, picnic tables, grassy areas, basketball hoop, playground and more-- ideal for a family with young children. We picked up dinner both nights and ate outside on a picnic table next to our room. The location couldn't be better- within walking distance to the ferries, restaurants, Starbucks and many shops.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kidsintow45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    75
    28
    6
    1
See reviews for
77
97
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Mi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is the best place to stay in Mackinaw in my opinion! The location is perfect, just about 2 blocks from downtown, across the street from a ferry line, yet far enough away to be quiet and peaceful! It's a smaller motel where you park in front of your door (very convenient) and it just has a nice welcoming atmosphere about it. The rooms were perfectly clean as was the pool and spa area. When we arrived the lady at the front desk was very friendly and explained everything we would need to know, as well as provided us with a huge packet of coupons for things around the area. If you are looking for something more than a big chain hotel, this is the place!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the courtyard to get that cozy welcoming atmosphere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Rainbow is a gem of a place, right along the beaten path! It is within a short walking distance of all the ferry's, the downtown excitement and all the eateries! Our room was immaculate, the staff was very friendly, courteous and answered any questions that we had. We did not use the pool although it looked very nice and clean! This motel was probably one of the first in the Mackinaw City area, but nevertheless, it was clean and very well kept! I highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area! A real deal for the price! I especially liked the front door parking!!

Room Tip: We had the bigger king room and it was fantastic! It had a microwave, a refrigerator and a table wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Family operated Motel. Very friendly staff. Easy walking distance to downtown and any of the Ferry services. The pool was great. The room was as clean as I have ever seen a motel room. Loved the courtyard with the gazebo and the glider swings. Just a great place to relax and have fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbetts22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Haven, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I found this little gem online for very cheap, especially compared to the surrounding hotel prices. This hotel is almost directly across the street from the Star Line Ferry to Mackinac Island, which made it very easy to walk to. We arrived early and they allowed us to leave our car there while we explored the island. They also gave up a wide variety of coupons for use on the island and in the city. The place was outdated, but clean. We chose the smallest room, as we were only going to be there at night to sleep. It had a fullsize bed, old tv, and small desk with about 3 feet of room on any given side of the bed. Very tiny, but clean and comfortable and we had our own bathroom. I felt safe staying there, and you can't beat the price and location. Will definitely stay again next time we travel to Traverse City.

Room Tip: Don't get the smallest room if you plan to hang out there, it truly is tiny, but is fine for sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbesemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

For starters, I don't think there are great places to stay in Mackinaw City - it's really a one night amusement park before heading over to the Island, or continuing on your journey. I've stayed at Baymont, Best Western, Days Inn and Holiday Inn Express before trying the Rainbow Motel. What a pleasant surprise! The greeting and welcome could not have been warmer or friendlier from the woman at the desk. The motel is a throwback - simple, clean, no fuss, no trendy decor. But it was $50.71 with tax in mid-June and I don't think there is a better value in the city. So while this is not a four star hotel in a lot of cities, in this city it is fantastic. The bed was comfortable, the windows opened for a cool breeze (they did have AC but who cares in northern Michigan?) - and it was quiet. This is my new hotel in Mackinaw City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissyChalupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I first discovered the Rainbow Motel 5 or 6 years ago, we decided to take the Harley to MC for the weekend, we didn't have any reservations, drove down the street and pulled in at the Rainbow, this was during the July 4th Holiday weekend, had our choice of a regular Queen room or a jacuzzi room for $10.00 more a night. We have stayed here every visit since. We were just there over the weekend for the Zoo-De-Mac bike ride. Had a corner room with a little sitting area so our room was a little larger than most. Very clean place, family owned and operated, they still use real keys for the doors! Stayed Friday and Saturday nights for less than $100.00. Close enough to walk to everything in town. We will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.5 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
1,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Property: Rainbow Motel
Address: 602 South Huron Avenue, Mackinaw City, MI 49701
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rainbow Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing