We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Second time here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riviera Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riviera Motel
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Second time here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is our second stay at the Riveria, the owners are friendly and full of information and the location can't be beat! You are on the water and very close to the bridge, the room is clean and comfortable. I just wish that I had the time to use the pool as it did look clean and refreshing. We were only there for about 12 hours, so we didn't have much time to enjoy the location, the price was about $160.00, I don't know what the other local hotels get for a night, so I have nothing to compare the Riveria to.
The rooms themselves could use some updating and for the price I would expect a bagel or piece of fruit with my coffee, however they did direct us to a nice restaurant just down the street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japetek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    24
    11
    3
    6
See reviews for
32
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We decided to stay here the night before we made our way into Mackinaw Island. We drove for about 7 hours that day and wanted somewhere clean to crash just for the night. We wanted to stay at the motel across the street but they were full and kindly directed us here to their neighbor. The hotel was clean and that is what we wanted (except for I have to mention the strange array of potato chips on the window sill that looks outside, maybe the cleaning lady was hungry and was daydreaming out the window...lol). That leads me to the view, it was gorgeous, and I was taken in by the beautiful view of the bridge and the water around it. The motel was very well kept, clean pool area that overlooked the water and seemed very relaxing although we didn't get to use it. We made it in about 8pm that night, went into Mackinaw City and had dinner and looked around and made our game plan for the next day. This motel is about 2 minutes from Mackinaw City. We had a nice evening although it was quick, we found our way to the ferry and purchased our tickets that night to save ourselves time in the am. The owners were pleasant when we checked in, and we were gone by 8:30 the next morning. All of a 12 hour stay. If your not looking to break the bank before you get to the island, and just want a place to sleep the night, this was exactly what we were looking for. My husband and I sat outside our room until about 11pm and enjoyed the view. If we had to do it all over again, we would do this in a second. Thanks Riviera Motel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim and Christy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We decided to stay in town at the last minute & hadn't made reservations anywhere. Most places in walking distance of the shops & view were sold out or charging in the $400s for a single night (& they weren't even waterfront). The Riviera had a room open up at the last minute & we jumped at the chance. The price difference was over $200 LESS then the uglier, bigger, chain hotel. On top of that, the people who own the place live there & work the front desk. They were very nice.

The room was dated (50s-decor), but was more than fine for our needs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bmc39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugatuck, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed there right after the 4th of July last summer. Added 2 extra nights to the trip because of the relaxing time with family. The building is not new but is clean. Nice safe pool area to relax at with kids. Easy bike ride to the ferry. Easy walk to nice restaurants. We had pleasant interactions with the owners. In fact, we left a few items and they kindly mailed them back to us without expense. The windows stay open for the breeze so partying likely not appreciated by all guests. Going back this summer. If you are looking for a moderately priced clean hotel with a great view and location this is a nice choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

To Mr. Never Go Back,

I do believe you are mistaken. I was also at the Riviera at the time of your visit. Even though I was a few doors down from you, I can assure you that your review of this establishment was missing a few key details. As I recall, you and your girlfriend were (to be kind) quite intoxicated, and listening to obnoxious music into the early morning hours. I also have quite a hard time believing that the owners (who happen to be very kind and extremely helpful) put you out of the motel for something as rediculous as locking yourself out at two o'clock in the morning. I have done the same thing a couple times. As far as there being a scene the next morning, you deserved to be treated as you were. I was on my way to the lobby for another cup of coffee, and heard how you addressed the owners wife. There was absolutely no excuse for your behavior. There is no reason on Earth to be disrespectful and rude to others (even if they are a complete stranger.)

To Hoodwinked By The Riviera,

I have stayed with the Riviera for several years now, and I can honestly say that the owners would NEVER "give a room away." When making a reservation, I ALWAYS pick up the phone to make my reservation, and have NEVER had any kind of trouble. Computer contact, no matter who the sender/recipient is , is not reliable. Besides, everyone makes mistakes...you referred to them as Riviera Hotel, when in fact they are Riviera Motel.

To everyone else, yes the rooms are a bit outdated, so what. The AMAZING view, the coupons the motel offers, and the helpfulness and sheer kindness from the owners make up for it. I would NEVER stay anywhere else in Mackinaw, because the service at the Riviera is the BEST!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BehonestMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have stayed stayed at the Riviera for nearly 30 years and three owners. The sounds and smells of the lakes are great. The view is wonderful and the price is in line with everyone else.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clk12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Joseph Mi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I reserved a room for this weekend at the Riviera. The website showed that a room was available. I received 2 confirmations via E-mail. The next day - late in the day, I received a phone call saying they didn't have a room available, that they confirmed it by accident. I think they gave my room to someone else.

Room Tip: Can't rate it because they gave my room to someone else
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank frenchman4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.8 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#29 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.1 mi away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#8 of 39 in Mackinaw City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Motel

Property: Riviera Motel
Address: 520 N Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9727
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riviera Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the shadow of the Mackinaw Bridge, the Riviera Motel has comfortable, clean, affordable rooms with a one-in-a-million view of the Mackinac Bridge. And with everything Mackinaw City and Mackinac Island have to offer just steps from your room, a lazy stroll will get you to all the major attractions. The Riviera is also surrounded by state parks, so going on a picnic is as easy as saying, "Peanut butter and jelly!" You can enjoy all kinds of outdoor activities including flying kites, skipping rocks, walking on the beach or just enjoying the view. Family-owned and operated, your friendly hosts and their staff are always willing to recommend a good restaurant, call a shuttle or just chat while you enjoy your complimentary cup of morning coffee, tea or hot chocolate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Riviera Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing