We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Nearby Hotels
$112
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$77
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Motel(Mackinaw City)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
588 results
Traveler rating
279
168
73
34
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
279
168
73
34
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesqueen bedhot tubmemorial daysleeper sofasausageprivate balconygreat place to staylarge roombreakfast roomlake viewfridge and microwavefree breakfastbeds were comfortableindoor poolfire pitwater park
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 588 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I really have never seen a hotel bathroom sparkle and shine like at the Mackinaw Beach and Bay Inn and Suites! I was inspired to leave a tip for housekeeping. The room was nothing fancy, but was very large and nicely laid out, as well as comfortable and quiet. Beautiful view and a nice patio, too. I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweet2th555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

The rooms are nice and big. The way the bathroom and small kitchen area is in the middle with a bed on each side offers privacy, it's almost as if there are two separate rooms. The only thing that could make this hotel better would be a more diverse breakfast. Overall wonderful, wonderful hotel. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene_rascol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed here over the Columbus Day weekend. It was our first stay here but will not be our last. The staff was friendly, the rooms were nice and clean and breakfast was fantastic. The fall rates were very reasonable. It was nice to stay at a locally owned establishment and meet the owners. The meeting room was spacious and met our quilting groups need. 66 quilters and all their supplies with two vendors fit very nicely in the conference room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V14H40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the suite and the beautiful private balconey. The room was very clean. The staff was very friendly. We certainly will choose this place to stay when we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmrmMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Let me just say that we were astonished with the value of our room. With the very reasonable price that we paid, the great location, the professional service of the receptionist and room cleaning folks, the cleanliness, the abundance of space in our room, and just the overall experience in general convinced us that this will be our hotel of choice the next time we come back to Mackinaw City.

Although I am a firm believer in the phrase "you get what you pay for", I almost feel as though we got more than what we paid for with the room that we had. Our room came with an extra bedroom and sleeper sofa, which we did not need but would come in handy for future visits when we bring kids or other family along. Each room had a tv in it, and the one with the sofa had a dvd player. The extra room with sofa can be a bit dark without any lights on, but with lights on it isn't so bad (which there were a few different sets of lights that could be turned on in the room - flip switch on the wall, bedside lamp, desk lamp).

The little kitchenette area was nice with a microwave and a mini refrigerator. This is great for storing and reheating any leftovers from dining out. Which, btw, I would highly recommend giving Darrow's a try. They have excellent food priced reasonably. A couple dining out could spend around $30 to $40 and get a pretty good meal with great service. Though there were other restaurants in the area, we liked this one enough to make it our place to eat over the weekend we were there, and it wasn't too far from the hotel.

One of the main reasons I chose this hotel was because of location. Our room had a great view of lake Huron with Mackinac and Bois Blanc Islands in the distance. The ferries were within walking distance of the hotel. The receptionist was very helpful in setting up a reservation on the requested 4th (top) floor. The only downside to having one of the upper floors is the need to use elevator, which can be quite busy in the mornings and require some wait-time to use. The view from the balcony is outstanding, though, with the sunrise over the lake each morning.

The pool area looked nice even though we didn't have time to use it. It is a bit of a walk to get to it through a long enclosed walkway from the main hotel to the area where the pool is. The game room appeared to be decent enough for kids, but wasn't anything too fancy.

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel in mid October on a Friday and Saturday night. After we spent most of the day Saturday checking out Mackinac Island, we returned that evening to a clean hotel room with a pleasant surprise waiting for us on the bed (see attached photos). We found this to be a really sweet finishing touch to our romantic getaway weekend.

Bottom line is: if you're looking for a good priced hotel which excels in all the basic criteria one might expect in a hotel, then look no further. Even though this isn't a 5 star hotel or something ritzy, it's truly a great place to stay with a loved one or with family if you want the best bang for your buck.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews