We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northwinds Motel(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Lakes Inn(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunderbird Inn(Mackinaw City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveler rating
277
168
72
33
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
277
168
72
33
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflesqueen bedhot tubmemorial daysleeper sofasausageprivate balconygreat place to staylarge roombreakfast roomlake viewfridge and microwavefree breakfastbeds were comfortableindoor poolfire pitwater park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 584 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed at the Beach-Bay in July 2010 in a King/Queen/Sofa-bed Suite with 3 adults and 2 young children. The suite was more than capable of accommodating our large party, along with all of our luggage and excited children. The beach was nice and easy to access. The beds were comfortable, and the bedding was clean and fresh (although potentially dated in style if that is important to you). There was a DVD player in the room as well as 2 televisions. The only things that I would recommend being aware of: the breakfast room gets crowded, although the food is pretty good; and the front room (beach view) gets very very bright in the morning as it has an east exposure. In all, it was a very nice hotel and a very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Really-Happy-Camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We have stayed on other properties owned by this family and have always been satisfied. This new building is beautiful! We traveled with grandparents and young children. There was plenty of room for all 6 of us to stay in one suite. The price was right and we actually saved over what we had spent at the older properties in the past. The beds were comfy, the view was spectacular and the beach was fun! Our kids spent 3 or 4 hours in the pool or at the beach each day. The 2 HD LCD tvs were a nice distraction during the 4 hours it rained. It's clean and the hot breakfast offerings were tasty. On the 4th of July, we sat on our private balcony and watched 5 sets of fireworks across the Straits of Mackinac. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Just on the outskirts of town, it's easy to get to from the expressway and just a short drive or walk to all that Mackinaw City has to offer. This is our new destination for our yearly stay on the 4th of July!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenwa1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

We have ben coming to Mackinaw City for over 40 years and this is by far the best hotel in this area. A billion dollar view from every room and two flat screen tv`s with 60 channels and great central air and rooms are spotless. Warning !!!!! If you smoke in your room or on the porch you will have a heavy charge on your bill and no pets which is great rule. The place smells great and two big rooms plus micro and frig and extra sink makes this four storey new hotel the best.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algoway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and informative (as this was our first time to Mackinaw City we felt completely at ease). When we got up to our room - WOW!
There was a couch with a hide away bed, a queen bed and on the other side of the bathroom there was a king bed. In the kitchen area there was ample counter space as well as a very clean microwave, fridge and mini sink. The bathroom was large and spotless. No mold or mildew anywhere. Our suite faced the lake and it was such a nice view. The balcony was nice as well - no wasp nests or bird droppings to contend with. Since we were there for the 4th of July, we could see the fireworks perfectly from our balcony! It was so nice to just relax and not have to worry about crowds etc...
Lastly, our maid was fabulous. She made sure we had everything we needed (and then some) and was super helpful and friendly.

With all good things there are some bad so here's what we liked least during our visit:
Breakfast was horrible. The room was extremely small and they asked that you did not take food out, so you were stuck there. The breakfast choices were mediocre at best. Cereal, milk, juice, coffee, bread, muffins, yogurt, cardboard biscuits, watery eggs, bland sausage gravy - and (the best part) a waffle station where you could make your own waffle. Yes, I said MAKE YOUR OWN. I find this completely tacky. IMO, there is no reason why someone cannot crank out waffles during breakfast instead of having to wait 20 minutes on line to get a waffle made. The second day of our stay we didn't even bother with breakfast.
The bed was very firm and the pillows were oversized and too firm. My neck and back still regret leaving my pillows at home :(
The beach area was relatively small and dirty. There were very few chairs and only 2 makeshift firepits, if that is even what you would call them. They do not provide the wood either.
The pool was a little on the small side and extremely over chlorinated.
Also, if you are traveling with small children, things are quite a bit of a walk from the hotel. We opted to drive and park for shopping/dining on Central Avenue.

These were minor dislikes. Overall we loved the hotel and will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlinwiththefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The Mackinaw Beach and Bay Resort is one of the nicest hotels that I have stayed in Mackinaw City. The customer service was fantastic. The hotel is family owned and operated and this shows in the service provided. The room was fantastic and was GREAT value. All of the rooms are suites and it was actually cheaper than a standard hotel room at other hotels.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again. This is my new favorite hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njstrasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews