We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Rooms are extremely clean and spacious. The breakfast had a good variety of food, had to wait in line for a couple minutes tho. The front staff are helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this as a place to stay in Mackinaw City!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    152
    71
    30
    32
See reviews for
243
169
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Owosso, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised as I pulled into this privately owned hotel during a fall color road trip with my son. It is located nearly all the way east of the very busy and bright Mackinaw City. The staff was busy, but polite and helpful. The lobby is inviting and clean. The value was spot on.

Our room was so nice! It had a wonderful balcony overlooking Lake Huron. Inside, it was roomy and clean. Breakfast was filling.

Unfortunately, I didn't have time to explore any of the other amenities this hotel offered. But I would definitely book this hotel again!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Who would have thought such a place as this existed outside of Florida or the Caribbean! Okay it was not sunshine in the eighties but it was sunshine and sandy beaches and glorious water views! It could well have been the ocean! The quaint stores and great eateries just topped the lot! I would go back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyirussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've been vacationing in the Straits area since I was a baby (more than 55 years). Although we now rent a private cottage for our summer vacation, we still enjoy autumn weekends up north, so still have a need for hotel lodging. I've stayed at a number of different hotels over the years, many for several years in a row, trying to find the elusive perfect place to stay in Mackinaw City. Although I'm pretty sure there is no such thing as perfect lodging, I believe we found a decent alternative.

This hotel is away from the hustle/bustle of the downtown area. It likely too far for a casual walk to the downtown, but it is an easy drive. It is actually on US-23 as begins to curve south toward Cheboygan.

I made the reservation over the phone, rather than on-line, and the reservation clerk was very helpful. Although I was quoted a higher rate than the on-line rate, once I mentioned the lower rate, the clerk checked with the manager and we were given the lower rates. We booked the Extra Large Suite (1 king, 2 queens, 1 sofa bed) at $139 (Sat) and $119 (Sun and Mon). Very reasonable rates for such a suite. All rooms are lakefront with balconies. However, rather than a doorwall to the balcony, it is a regular door.

The suite was very, very clean and the daily maid service was excellent.

The general manager and various desk clerks were friendly and helpful. We particularly enjoyed the original paintings hanging in the lobby area.

Unfortunately the extra large units are at the very end of the building and there is a wall that juts out, which somewhat reduces the view. We had to stand at closer to the adjacent balcony in order to see the bridge clearly. We did have an absolutely beautiful view of Mackinaw Island.

The other drawback to this suite being at the very end of the lakefront portion of the hotel is the distance from the elevator, soda/ice machine and lobby. The stairway was just outside the room and you could park near the stairs. However, my older parents were traveling with me and the long hall way, and three flights of stairs was somewhat challenging for them. I was told by the manager that there is a first floor Extra Large suite with easy access from the parking lot.

The hotel is "L" shaped with a lakefront section with the suites and then the other section jutting out toward the road (US-23) with the lobby, breakfast room, conference/banquet room, indoor pool (with waterfall) and hot tub, exercise room and game room.

As mentioned, it was a bit of a walk to the pool area, which we were please to find unoccupied in the late evening and open until 11pm. The pool is also "L" shaped with a waterfall spraying water. The water was comfortable, not too hot, not too clod. The hot tub was hot, but not hot enough for me. And there seemed to be a problem with some of the jets so it didn't seem to be operating at 100%. I poked my head into the exercise room, which was unoccupied. It smelled like an exercise room. Peeked into the game room and noticed they had Skeeball. Never got a chance to play any games.

The beach area is typical for that area, a sandy beach, with some marsh grass, and rocks in the lake. The weather was too cool during our stay for any lounging on the beach.

The breakfast room was huge, probably the biggest breakfast room I have ever been in. Plenty of tables/chairs for the guests. With 70 suites, I'm sure this hotel is very busy during peak times, so the large breakfast room is a plus. The hotel was full on the Saturday night, and we slept through the Sunday breakfast time, so I can't actually comment on if the room was accommodating for large groups or not. The breakfast selections were pretty standard with fruit, bagels, donut holes, English muffins, bread, oatmeal, coffee, juice, scrambled eggs, meat, biscuits and gravy. Adequate, but nothing really special.

Apparently we picked the perfect time to stay there. The fall color weekend tourists departed on Sunday, and the next large group was not due until Tuesday afternoon. So Sunday was pretty quite around there. Monday should have been quite, but there were construction workers in and out of the lobby area where they were building a computer room.

Overall, I would definitely stay here again for the long weekend getaway, preferably during off peak season.

Room Tip: Unless you need the Extra Large room, select a suite in the middle of the hotel. If you opt for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GoingSomewhereAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We booked this hotel because of the two-room setup, and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a ground floor room. The front room opened onto the beach and had a king-sized bed. The back room, which was darker and perfect for our 1 1/2 year old to sleep in, had a queen-sized bed and couch. The two rooms are separated by the bathroom and kitchenette. We were able to read in the front room while our toddler went to sleep in the dark back room. The beach itself is marshy except for the strip of sand close to the hotel, but that was perfect for our little guy to play in. We walked to town. The breakfast was good--especially the waffles.

Room Tip: All rooms have a window onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillbPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a wonderful time here! The staff was friendly, the room was nice, and the view was gorgeous! We highly recommend it! We only stayed for one night, but we would have loved to stay for a week. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shulamith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Gratiot, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

After looking on booking.com we decided to give this hotel a try. Couldn't be happier with our decision. Even though it was off-season, I never expected such a great room and amenities for less than $80 a night. Was surprised to find that every room in the building is a suite with it's own private balcony and lakefront view. Our room was considered Suite A, with a pull out sofa and Queen Bed in one half. The other half contained a King Bed. The halves were separated by a wet bar area with frig, microwave, sink and coffee maker. Bathroom was spacious, with large amount of counter space. Breakfast was included in the price. Choices included a variety of breads, cereals, make your own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, and biscuits and gravy. Even though we were only there one night, we would definitely come back again. Next time we would like to try out the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMCRTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Property: Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Address: 929 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw Beach And Bay - Inn And Suites
Mackinaw Beach And Bay Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing