We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mackinaw Beach and Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Grand Rapids
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mackinaw Beach and Bay”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nothing too fancy but clean - and a very good value compared to other hotels. All rooms face the bay, and consist of a living room with a bed and pullout, and a bedroom with a King. Complimentary breakfast was average - nothing fancy. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RysdykJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    158
    72
    31
    33
See reviews for
248
176
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I was a little leery about booking a hotel in this area-- it seems like they are all 2 stars and I didn't know what to expect. After culling over hotels, I went with this place even though a co-worker had recommended the Hamilton (it was pricier). We booked a king bed lake view room. It was large. The first room area had a queen size bed and sofa. The bathroom was large enough. The king sized bed was in the second room with a door to the nice sized balcony. The view of the Mackinac Bridge and the lake was great. The breakfast was the same, Saturday and Sunday morning and was nothing special. The service was nice. There are many hotels in this area-- unlike some, this hotel only has lake view rooms. It was so nice to wake up and see the sunrise from our room. Amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nedradc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

After looking at many different hotels and reviews, I chose to book a room for our family at the Mackinaw Beach & Bay. I am always a little leery of booking rooms based on the internet, but do not like to arrive to our destination and spend hours going from property to property to find a room. We were vacationing with our two teenage sons and the room set up was perfect as it had two areas, one with king and other with queen and sleeper sofa separated by bath a mini-bar area. We enjoyed the balcony and view. Many reviews included comments regarding the beach and talking to the manager he explained that their area included a wetland which is protected by the DNR. I did see many people enjoying the beach area. The breakfast was always hot with many options, but was the same each day of our stay and the dining area was spacious. The on-site pool was small, but you can enjoy a waterpark at the hotel just down the street. The manager, John, is truly a great asset to the property. He answered our questions, made suggestions for restaurants and sight seeing (suggested taking one of the first two ferries to the island in the morning as they go under the bridge plus arranged for the shuttle to pick us up at the hotel) and was truly concerned about our stay. We truly enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 738Donna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very plain decor, but the beds were comfortable, clean and one larger bedroom with a queen bed and one smaller room with a king bed divided with the bathroom in between, The bathroom between the two sleeping Areas allowed for a little privacy for my daughter and her family and Grandma and Grandma. We had a very small balcony facing the lake. Flat screen tvs were nice, but couldn't get HBO. Internet connection was impossible for me to get on. breakfast was good, Didn't have time for pool as we spent our time on the Island, Went out to the beach, there Are much nicer beach areas. Staff was nice, but couldn't explain the Internet issues,
Decent view, but not spectacular. Lobby almost empty of furniture, no place to sit and relax, Large parking lot, Quiet location and rooms were pretty quiet.We all slept pretty well and that's the bare minimum, I wanted to stay somewhere more modern, but couldn't find any rooms! It was fine,

Room Tip: Beach area is nothing to look at, also higher floors I think see less of the beach, Beach furniture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 245Mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

"Clean, well-kept rooms. A+ on the housekeeping!! I received the exact type and location of room I asked for, even though my reservation was made only a week or so before our stay, AND it was a holiday weekend. That was impressive and helped make it an outstanding family vacation weekend. This place is perfect for families with older kids since the rooms are divided into 2 separate rooms by the bathroom/kitchenette area. Gives both parents and kids a bit of privacy. Good hot breakfast. Great location! Only complaint would be the inability to get extra towels in the evening for the next morning. With the price paid for the room, that shouldn't have been a problem. Overall, a great weekend!"

Room Tip: All rooms face the water/beach. We were on the 4th floor and had a balcony room, which gave us a pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the beach and bay recently, and loved it!

Rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Beautiful view of island and bridge. Staff was friendly, cleaning crew did an amazing job. A short walk from the Arnold ferry, minutes from downtown, bridge, and Michimillimac. Pool was busy but clean.

I would like to echo the two constant concerns:

Breakfast is bad, really bad.

The beach is not all sand, there is a wetland in between the sand and the water.

Overall though, we loved it, and I'm sure you will too.

Room Tip: Get the water view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, MI
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This owner has a poor attitude. From the first time we spoke on the phone, I told him the rate was better on line than he was quoting me. His response was that he does all the on line posting and I was mistaken. Invited him to ck his computer to see what I was seeing at the moment, and he declined. Made me mad, but I caved:( In our week stay there, fire alarm went off several times, 2 early morning wake up calls we never placed, and never an apology. Even though we had a little one, couldn't bring back some morning morsels to the room cause of "hotel policy." Traveled a lot, and never heard that one. When he asked how we heard of his hotel, he was argumentative with me about the validity of TripAdvisor (which had him rated well with good reviews). Didn't understand that all. Guy just doesn't get it. Liked the suite, and a great view, with ok beach. Pool was dirty, and waterfall did not work! We will not be back to this hotel again

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better view of the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Denchan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel
#1 of 39 in Mackinaw City
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Property: Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Address: 929 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw Beach And Bay - Inn And Suites
Mackinaw Beach And Bay Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing