We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Mackinaw city michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not as advertised.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

No control of a.c. In room. Water barely hot even at all hot! Hallway no a.c. But thermostat showed it to be 87 degrees. One day it was only 79. The breakfast room had no a.c. And no door to open to let in cooler air. First day totally full most have been 80's made me Iill due to health problems. When arrived bathroom had hair sink in tub and long black hairs draped on towels ck! Repeatedly keys lost code. The Spielberg look alike at desk. Condescending to age 60 and daughter 30. acted like we had no idea how to operate key cards. finally came up and reset door no problems after manually resetting door. Recoded cards 4 times keep getting locked out ! Went to pool no waterfall as showed on site not on or broke 26 month twins would have loved if it worked.when you pay over 1000.00 for 5 nights expected more. Also had to keep getting towels not enough for 5 people. They said they only give 4 towels due to thief . Make print out for maids that show how many guest in suites . Lake view nice! No ice bag 3 days no cups acted like we were being because we wanted a well cleaned and stocked room. Not impressed by hotel staff at front desk only one not with attitude was a very nice young blonde girl! No wish to come back due to poor service and hot rooms hallway and breakfast area. When you pay this kind of money first time never had a suite where you had room control over your a.c.. 74 too hot for me!

Room Tip: Stay some where else,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 669Lindab52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    152
    71
    30
    32
See reviews for
243
170
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lewis Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family made a reservation here solely based on Trip Advisor reviews and the reviews were spot on.We had a suite with plenty of room and a nice view of the water from our own deck.The breakfast area is quite large with plenty of items to choose from to start your day and save you some money.The only concern could be the beach area.It is mostly grass with plenty of geese and seagulls to keep you company.Most people do not go to Mackinaw City for beach anyway and it is next to the Arnold transit ferry boats to get to the island.There is a waterpark 3 doors down that is included in the price that is perfect for kids of any age

Room Tip: All rooms face water so it is all good but check out the indoor pool and game room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wallycoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My mom and I drove up from a family reunion in Ludington, MI to see the local sights. We didn't have a hotel booked so I checked TripAdvisor and this hotel was close to the top without being super expensive. I noticed that the price was changing from one day to the next so I called the hotel and talked to the manager, John. He was so completely helpful and even gave us the best price (better than online). When we arrived both he and another girl answered all our questions about good local resturants and sights to see (that are not crawling with tourists). We were in room 315 and it could have fit 6 people! It has a large pull out couch, and a queen bed in one room with a TV. A bathroom and small kitchenette in the middle. In a completely seperate room is a king size bed with it's own TV and an incredible view of the lake from the private balcony. So far we haven't used the pool or hot tub yet because the beach is right here but other people look like their having fun.

Room Tip: Talk to John, he's awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smilesunshine57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We lived in this hotel for 2 nights. Excellent experience, Rooms are clean and large, facing lake, have beautiful view. A few minutes walk to water park which my kids loves it. This is a good hotel for families.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hotel is a little off the downtown area, still close enough to walk. Staff is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is standard waffles, juice,coffee, eggs, sausage. Rooms are clean with great view

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvtravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

My sister-in-law and I decided to take our families and a few cousins to Mackinaw and it was up to me to find the rooms. We needed a suite for her needs (7 people) and a regular room for mine (3 people). After searching and calling a few places, we settled on the Mackinaw Beach and Bay.
The rooms were very spacious. We loved being on the first floor, near the outside door and parking and our rooms also opened up on the beach. We had a nice view of the Bridge.
My SIL reserved the extra large suite and it had a queen sofa sleeper, 2 queens and a separate room with a king. My suite had a queen sofa sleeper, and a queen in the main area, with a separate king room at the back. Each suite had a spacious bathroom in the middle with a counter across that had a sink, mini-fridge and microwave. The beds were comfy and the rooms clean.
Breakfast had a good selection with many hot items and plenty of seating. Very convenient to the ferries and downtown. Also was told that guests could use the waterpark in the hotel down the road. All in all, a nice hotel and I will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeinsagebrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Very clean rooms with awesome views. King & Queen size bed in our suite...microwave, fridge, kitchen sink and two flat screen tv's as well. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Full breakfast was provided for free along with DIY waffles. We will definitely book our room with them again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genareneew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#12 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Property: Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Address: 929 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw Beach And Bay - Inn And Suites
Mackinaw Beach And Bay Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing