We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mostly Pros, Few Cons” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mostly Pros, Few Cons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The room was huge (much more space than the two of us needed) and the view was great! Cleanliness was not an issue, except on the balcony where the chairs were covered in dirt/bugs. The pool and fitness center are a long way from the lone elevator, but the breakfast exceeded (admittedly low) expectations. It's not quite restaurant quality, but there's good variety. Overall, the amazing value, solid location and filling breakfast push this hotel to "Excellent."

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    147
    67
    28
    29
See reviews for
234
159
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in the largest suite available at the hotel, apparently there are 4 of them total. They are located at the very end of the hotel with the worst views. The room itself was nice. I will list the pluses and minuses of our stay.
Pluses:
The room size is large and nice.
The room and hotel is clean and it looks like the owner is trying to update the property a
little at a time.
The breakfast was adequate with basics plus eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy.
The pool was wonderful, and at a really nice temperature.
Minuses:
The general manager is rude and unfriendly. The rest of the staff was nice and pleasant,
but he seemed bothered by everything and never smiled.
The beds in our suite were categorized as 2 qns and 1 king. There's no way the 2 beds
were twins; had to be doubles.
The hot tub was only adequate. If the hotel ever gets crowded, there's no way more than
3 adults would fit. Its very similar to a hot tub you would have at your home, but only a
few jets worked.
The biggest complaint was the general manager. I called 2 days prior to see if I could get the room a day in advance; and if it was available, could I get a discount. I spoke to the general manager who informed me I could get the room, but not at a discount because this was the busy season, and he was always booked full. I declined. When we arrived we never saw more than 20 or so cars in the parking lot so I know the 72 rooms were never full. He was not personable for a service industry.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinaw City, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The room we had was a very nice room . Had two tv one you could watch movies if you like made it nice for the Grand kids. Loved the balcony sit out there in morning & at night. Was a big nice rooms . A little kitchen in there too . Really nice Hotel. Breakfast was good too. I will go back again. You go down to the beach that was kind of not the best of shape had to pick and watch where walk to get out to the water.

Room Tip: The higher you go the less noise you will hear. You get the last floor you wont hear all the little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

GM John bailed us out of the vacation from hell. Had reservations next door at a dumpy hotel.
John worked to get us a beautiful suite for 3 days at the last second at his place at a price barely
over the low rate we had booked.The room was big, 2 big beds, 2 tv's, microwave, refrig,
sink, iron view of the lake and beach, hot breakfast and CLEAN. John and staff were very
friendly and helpful. Had great conversations with both during our stay and they made us feel
very welcome. John doubled as concierge giving us tips about local spots to visit including
shopping trip to Petosky and the scenic route coming back through the tunnel of trees.
Great hotel, excellent staff Would recomment to anyone

Room Tip: Check with John. He'll fix you up. No noise issue, all seem similarly equipped. first floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was my first stay but it definitely won't be the last. The two-room suite was spacious, and very nice and clean. The beds are comfortable, and the view from the balcony was perfect - right on the beach with a view of the Mackinac Bridge. It is a new hotel (in the last 3-4 years I think), and it was wonderful to find something so nice at a reasonable rate. John, the General Mgr. and the staff were all very friendly, and made some wonderful suggestions for things to do both in Mackinaw City, as well as day trips. I look forward to staying again in the fall, if not sooner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetmore, Michigan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Booked for two nights. Second night(Monday) was $30 more than first. "That's when they start getting busy". Several other motels we checked had same answer. Seems that must be the agreed excuse for the whole lot. According to the parking lot, that's not when they start getting busy. Room (suite) was spacious but barron. No closet or anywhere to hang clothes, no towel racks, no toilet paper holder and a hole in the ceiling tile in the shower (not our doing). Room was clean and quiet (Not many guests). Breakfast was average but no yogurt or boiled eggs. Pool was old and worn looking and a good walk from any of the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have stayed here many times and we love it. The location is nice and quiet. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The view from the balcony is great. You can see the Mackinac Bridge and Mackinac Island. Jon and the rest of the staff are very nice and helpful. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Klf129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 stars 173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#25 of 41 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Property: Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Address: 929 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw Beach And Bay - Inn And Suites
Mackinaw Beach And Bay Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing