We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bang for your buck” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Mackinaw City
Whitehall, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is a nice value. You can have a two room suite on the lake for around $150. The room sleeps up to around six comfortably. The entry was covered in gnats, but it was that time of season. The breakfast was the same as all the other hotels on the lakefront. It does the job. The staff was ok. I have had worse and have had better. All in all, I would recommend this place for the economic value for larger families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    152
    71
    30
    32
See reviews for
243
169
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by the inexpensive price during the Memorial Day weekend. Their website is so professional looking, I was afraid that the prices would be $200+ per night. But instead, it was an average of $100 per night. Granted, I called a few days before the holiday weekend, so maybe they were trying to ensure a more full hotel for the holiday. Either way, it was worth it.

I booked by calling and the General Manager John took my reservation - and if I'm not mistaken, he checked me in Sat morning as well. Very nice man - as were all their staff. The hotel is a little east of the more busy downtown area - walkable if you're up to it, but certainly not more than a 5 minute drive from the main shopping area (Mackinaw City shopping district is rather small anyway). But I prefer to be a little way from the busy area anyway. Best of all, it was, coincidentally, right near the ferry line (Arnold) for which I pre-purchased tickets.

All rooms are suites that are beachfront. The beachfront looked ok, but since it was midge season (little flies) I didn't spend a lot of time on the beach nor on the balcony - although during less-buggy times, it looked very nice (both beach and balcony). Suite was big and nicely laid out - walk into to one area with sofa (sofa-sleeper I assume) and bed (with TV), then a middle area (no privacy door though) with the kitchenette and bathroom, then through that to the next bed/TV area, then the balcony. Not a sliding glass door to balcony, instead an actual door, along with a big picture window that opened AND had a screen (very nice!). Kitchenette area had microwave, mini-sink, coffee maker (with coffee packet, creamer, sugar, sweetener, napkin) and half-fridge. All were relatively new, clean and worked well. Bathroom was clean and large enough. Room was relatively quiet too - although I was on the 4th floor, 2nd room from very end - so that alone may have been why.

Breakfast was VERY good for a hotel buffet - eggs were well made and tasted good, good selection of baked goods (bread, bagels, donut holes), cereal, waffle maker, sausages and sausage gravy. Not bad! Area was clean and big as well.

Pool and hot tub were adequate. You don't necessarily go to Mackinaw City to swim - LOL. As other reviews have indicated, the hot tub was very small, but I had it all to myself. Pool was on the smaller side, but again, adequate and clean - pool had a little dirt on the bottom, but looked like it was just due for it's regularly-scheduled cleaning. Towels were provided in pool area - although a few were dingy - like maybe they'd been bleached too many times and were more yellow compared to the other white towels - but again, not stained, just ready to be retired. They otherwise, appeared clean.

This was a clean, decent-sized hotel, good prices, great staff, yummy breakfast and perfect for my stay. Would visit again and recommend to others.

Room Tip: 4th floor (highest floor) was a little too high to hear the waves if that's what you prefer. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seashellhearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here 2 days over Memorial Day. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast is basic, and crowded at times. Avoid this town in May due to may flies. They are everywhere. You can't even sit on the balcony due to them swarming. Not hotels fault.

Biggest thing is the "beach" does not look like it does in the picture. No sand, no chairs, except for dirty broken pair of chairs. Rocks and mostly a mess going down to water. This facility could do more to make outside more appealing, landscape is non existent. You can get a room for cheaper and with a nice sandy beach and clean exterior with lounge chairs a little further north towards town. Not a great view except for water. You can not see the bridge.

Pool is a hike from the rooms.

Lastly,the manager is less than helpful and inviting. He tended to be crabby and no help with anything not owned by the owner of the hotel, which I am told is extensive in town. He talks about employees in negative way in front of customers. Generally, I would say you can make a better choice for same or less money.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tflynn4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Super clean and spacious rooms with great views!!! Great selection at breakfast! Excellent price!
Nice pool. Hot tub on the small side but HOT!
Could do without the Midges outside but tis the season for those pesky things.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area was clean and so much fun. It was a larger than average pool with a hot tub that was actually hot which my husband loved. Also, there was a cute waterfall over the pool that he used to massage his back.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor suite that overlooked the beach and water. It was so relaxing watching the fer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BusyBee155012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went to this hotel in May, 2012 for a Quilt Camp put on by The Quilt House in Indian River, MI. Had an awesome time. The rooms are very clean and beautiful, the staff was very helpful and friendly, our big sewing room was perfect for 60 some of us and very secure. We could leave our machines and all of our stuff in the room and never worry about anything. We totally enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub too. The people at this hotel could not be more accomodating. Whomever has been writing the bad reviews needs to have their heads examined. Thank you for a wonderful time. Hope to come back very soon!

Room Tip: I don't think you can find a hotel where you would enjoy any room you stay in. We went from roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I thought this was a great hotel with an excellent price. The way our room was set up made it so the two beds were separated by the bathroom and a narrow hallway which gave the illusion of a two room suite. A nice touch.

The bed that was furthest from the door had a wonderful view of the lake and beach. There was a small balcony as well. Unfortunately, our room had a few bugs in it when we arrived. These were some sort of flying insect that we didn't notice at first. They were congregated in the corners of the ceiling near the windowed portion of the room. The bugs did not move around at all while we were there, and I am not sure where they came from. They did detract somewhat from my comfort, but they were as inoffensive as a pest could possibly be.

Overall, the room was comfortable and clean. I really think the bugs were a fluke; maybe housekeeping opened a window to air out the room before we got there.

The breakfast was standard fare. The pool area was really nice! It was a large pool that had a waterfall feature which poured water into it. Definitely better than I assumed it would be.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freemajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
Hamilton Inn Select - Beachfront
#28 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites

Property: Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
Address: 929 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackinaw Beach And Bay - Inn And Suites
Mackinaw Beach And Bay Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing