We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waterfront Inn - Mackinaw City
Nearby Hotels
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vindel Motel(Mackinaw City)
$135
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$243
$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baymont by Wyndham Mackinaw City(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$177
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clearwater Lakeshore Motel(Mackinaw City)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach House(Mackinaw City)
$124
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveler rating
25
18
23
18
57
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
18
23
18
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneeded a place to staycouple nightsbeautiful sunrisefire pitthe staff was friendly and helpfulone night stayfiresdocksmi
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 141 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The prices were very reasonable, and the rooms and service were outstanding.
The management and employees are always helpful with answers to questions that one might have with places to go, or where to eat.
The lobby also provides a good selection of brochures of nearby places for activities and entertainment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Beautiful view of Lake Michigan from balcony outside the room. Basic room--TV, WiFi, small fridge & microwave. No coffee in the room. Comfortable king size bed. Clean room. Price was right at $81/night. Open inset to hang clothes (no closet). Small round table w/ two padded chairs. Door molding was in need of repair. Small basic bathroom w/ sink, separated by door from shower area. Nice room for one night stay.

Room Tip: Choose the waterfront for the view of Lake Michigan/Lake Huron assuming the bridge is the dividing line.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Okay, its not the prettiest motel I have ever stayed at, But for the price and the views from my room can't be beat. We had a room on the water with a balcony, so relaxing. The staff was very accomodating and made any request easy. We have stayed there twice now, and everytime we go to Mackinaw we will stay at the Waterfront!

Room Tip: enjoy the waterfront rooms on the ends most!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frauline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

For those of us that grew-up in Michigan and spent our summers going 'Up North' on family vacations, this is a place that wil bring back a bunch of memories of those times!

Waterfront Inn is on the south end of Mackinaw City and close enough to walk to many of the restuarants, shopping and boat docks to Mackinaw Island. The waterfront rooms have spectacular views of the Island, as well as Round Island, Bois Blanc island, the Mackinaw Straits, and of cours the Mackinaw Bridge! The beachfront is for swimming but the recent drought and many years of low precipitation, both winter and summer, has reduced the lake levels to new lows and the water is very shallow for a long way out from shore -- no fault of any hotel on the Lake Huron coast.

The rooms are somewhat dated but that is what lends itself to the nostalgia of the property and the 'feel' of being on vacation as a kid. However, the rooms are well appointed, many with new carpet and furnishings, and wi-fi and cable TV are there to bring the complex into the 21st century. Breakfast is a free continental style, there is an indoor year-round pool, hot tub and waterfall, and room rates vary by the room location and time of year but it still a bargain even at the peak times. PLUS, if you prefer a vacation that is not from the mid-20th century, the adjacent property, Mackinaw Beach Resort, is owned by the same folks and is an all-suite facility. While more expensive, the property is only ablotu three years old and every suite faces the water.

Bonfires on the beach, some of the best sunrises anywhere, history and nostalgia can all be enjoyed at a modest price and make memories for the next generation going 'Up North' for family vacations and new memories!

Respectfully Submitted
Mark H.
Marshall, MI

Room Tip: The 'waterfront' rooms are the best for the view and 2nd or 3rd floors have small balconies that face the all the scenary; more money but worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubahanlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just got back from 4 nights at the Waterfront Inn. We had room 250, which was at the end on the second floor. The beds were on the outside wall, so the only time I heard our neighbors was when we were both in the bathroom at the same time. Room was a pretty good size, 2 beds, table and chairs, fridge, sink and good size counter. Tub and toilet in a pretty small room. This is not a fancy or totally modern place. But the room was clean, the hotel is on the beach, and kids loved the pool and hot tub. Breakfast is 3 kinds of cold cereal, 2 kinds of muffins, bread for toast, waffle maker, juice, coffee, tea. Hot beverages available all the time. We grilled on the beach a couple of nights. Staff were very nice, friendly. Beds and pillows were also very good. We had a courtside, we had a small view of part of Mackinac Island. Again, it's not modern, but the decor is also not from the 50s. We paid $80 Fri and Sat night, and $60 Sun-Wed nights. I've paid a LOT more for rooms that were only slightly more up to date. If you aren't looking for fancy, just want a decent room and breakfast and want to be on the beach, give this place a try.

Room Tip: There are various sizes of rooms, beach front and non beach front. Some of the courtside rooms are older, probably from the 50s, just got a quick look at one, they are pretty small, but if that's not an issue for you or you won't be in the room much, I'm sure they are a good price. We had room 250, it was great.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mackinaclover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews