We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 4th of July weekend!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Inn - Mackinaw City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterfront Inn - Mackinaw City
Wauseon, Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful 4th of July weekend!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Waterfront Inn starting on the 4th of July. It ws a great location to watch the fireworks for mackinaw City, Mackinac Island and St. Ignace all at once. The location was also nice because it was just a couple minutes down from the main part of Mackinaw City, So it was real loud and traffic wasn't bad. They have great beach front property! The rooms were nice, frig w/ tables and chairs. The pool and hot tube were nice as well. They do serve breakfast... Simple though, just waffles and cereal. All and all we had a great trip and we will definately stay here again!!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 406 and it was right across from the pool house so that was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    20
    14
    49
See reviews for
51
39
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay the rooms are emaculate clean and ours was a lakefront room with plenty of space.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Awesomehurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

My two sisters and I stayed for an overnighter. It is a very clean inn. It is an older one but well kept. There are rooms that are ground level next to the pool. Also 2 story buildings with patios. we had an upstairs room over looking the lake. We could see the Mackinaw bridge from our balcony. The bridge is beautiful lit up at night. The inn has picnic tables, lounges and gliders and chairs at the beach and also a firepit. The lake, has small rocks in the water, so you might want to invest in water shoes or wear old tennis shoes, unless you are not a tenderfoot. Water was warm in the lake and we looked for Petosky stones. Pool was great and hot tub also. Free breakfast in lobby area with coffee and juices,waffles, cereal,muffins, and lots of table and chairs.Office clerk was very helpful. Only about 1 mile from town. Rates are reasonably low.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the lake are worth the extra $10. If you have problems with stairs ground floor n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our two children for one night. The hotel is very old and very run down. The beds are hard as rock and the furnishings were old 20 years ago. The amount of chlorine in the pool combined with the lack of ventilation in the pool building will make you gag, literally. I had a very hard time breathing and was concerned about my children breathing the air. By 6:30 the next morning, my 4 year old was standing at the door begging to leave. It was really an unpleasant experience. There are other hotels in the area for the same price that are much nicer. I really would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a good room elsewhere.... However, if you are unfortunate enough to have to stay here. Be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarakay66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mackinaw City hotels

Royal Oak
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

At the spur of the moment we decided to stop in Mackinaw City, we stopped at the Waterfront Inn. I walked in to the lobby (it was around noon), and inquired about the availability of rooms. The desk clerk greeted me immediately; she was very friendly and helpful. She gave me three rooms to choose from, I chose a lake view room with 2 double beds it was only $69.00 per night. The room was dated but very clean and comfortable, large TV, refrigerator and a great view with a private balcony. I was shocked when the desk clerk said “the room is ready and you can take your luggage up now. So many times when you try to check in early you are told you will have to wait.
In conclusion if you want a clean comfortable room that is reasonably priced, you cannot go wrong. As other reviewers have mentioned if you want a better room you can upgrade to their sister property next door.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMAC1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here, the staff was very friendly. Breakfast (cold cereal, muffins, waffles, orange juice and fruit) was hectic the first day, we arrived at a very busy time. The next day we ate out. Second time we ate breakfast there, it was much less hectic. The rooms are dimly lit and the beds are very uncomfortable. Pillows are flat as previous reviews have stated, so we brought our own. Other than that, the location is nice, with a nice beach area that my daughter loved. Swimming pool and hottub were nice as well. Not too bad for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

very nice facility. right on the water and the accomodations are reasonable. The breakfast is adequate and the staff is knowledgeable about the area and attractions. Can make reservations for faciltiy next door if you want to upgrade.
Kids enjoyed the swings and dipping their feet into the water. Great view of the Bridge

Room Tip: the water front rooms are the same price as most 'court view' rooms but it seems most people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 42b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#17 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
Court Plaza Inn & Suites
#21 of 39 in Mackinaw City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Inn - Mackinaw City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Inn - Mackinaw City

Property: Waterfront Inn - Mackinaw City
Address: 1009 S Huron Ave, P.O. Box 302, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9797
Location: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinaw City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Waterfront Inn - Mackinaw City 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Waterfront Inn - Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Inn - Mackinaw City Hotel Mackinaw City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing