We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History Comes Alive”

Colonial Michilimackinac
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$24.00*
and up
Mackinaw City Sunset Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The original village of Michilimackinac was constructed by local Indians, and the French, in 1715.
Milan, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“History Comes Alive”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We are history buffs and enjoy seeing accurate restorations that accurately depict early American history. Our two hours at Michilimackinac fulfilled our desire for information presented in ways that made it fun, "real" and helped you feel a little of what the people in the 1700's might have felt.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ccothernII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    163
    22
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating AND fun”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Enjoyed the fort - great interpreters and fascinating rebuilt buildings with lots of history. There is an ongoing archealological dig you can watch, plus they shoot off an authentic cannon and musket at different times throughout the day. Nice view of the Mackinac Bridge as well.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

It was a fairly interesting attraction. It is in the original location of the fort, but the buildings are replicas. My family enjoyed it, but not as much as the fort on Mackinac Island.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RayRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Must Do!”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I've been coming here since I was little and now I bring my family. It's amazing to see how the fort has changed and grown. Each year has something new. If you live in Michigan then you need to stop here and take at your history. This really will get your kids thinking. This is how people truly lived and there where no cell phones or electronics.

They have done a great job recreating the fort and there is still on-going archeological digs. There is something for everyone here.

Helpful?
Thank Gmerrill44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choctaw, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Living history”
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Love coming home and seeing some things are still the same as I left them. The Fort is one of my favorite places in Mackinaw!

Helpful?
Thank DonJuanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Michilimackinac also viewed

Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
Mackinaw City, Cheboygan County
 

Been to Colonial Michilimackinac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing