We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little place, great value”
Review of Bogan Lane Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bogan Lane Inn
Ranked #12 of 14 Mackinac Island B&B and Inns
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cute little place, great value”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Bogan Lane Inn this past weekend. It was a wonderful little place at a great price. As soon as we walked in we were made to feel right at home. Our first stop was in the living room where they had fudge waiting for us. Our bedroom was very cute and simple and very clean. We shared a bathroom with another family but that didn't both us at all. In the morning Trish made fresh muffins and a variety of breads and had fresh fruit, coffee and juice for us. She and her mom were great to talk to and we learned about life on the island, what it is like to grow up on the island and what the winters are like. It is an older house, but very cute and very clean. You cannot beat the price and it is just about two blocks from downtown. If you are looking to stay on the island and want something simple and clean, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tas62675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    10
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
9
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We absolutely LOVE Bogan Lane Inn! Native islanders Trish, her mom, and Jake the Golden Retriever are the hosts of this beautiful, historical home. The rooms are homespun and clean (our favorite is the Porch Room), the rates are very reasonable (compared to other places on Mackinac), and the breakfast is the best on the island (Trish bakes fresh every morning - I highly recommend the scones)! We've stayed there several times and plan to return again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SITFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Slept very very very well. Loved the conversations, Loved the scones! Should have taken some of them home...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank batlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Having never planned a trip to Mackinac Island before, I had the misconception that the very expensive, well-publicized Grand Hotel was the only lodging. Thank goodness that's not the case because everyone should have the opportunity to spend at least one night on this most interesting and beautiful island. There's a range of lodging options. For the budget-minded who want an authentic old-time experience, I recommend Bogan Lane Inn. The energetic mother-daughter operators do all the work themselves. They're life-long, year-around residents and not only exceptionally knowledgible, but also willing to sit with guests to share their tips. Their home is full of antiques and lots of books on Mackinac's history, flora, and fauna. Rooms aren't pristine, but they're quiet, homey and comfortable. Breakfast is continental and all homemade. With the clip-clopping of horses going by outside and the vintage cottages all around the neighborhood, staying in this inn reinforces the feeling of having stepped back in time. You'd miss that you stayed in one of the more modern, more costly lodgings. It's within walking distance of the docks, the fort, restaurants, shops, and bicycle rentals. I'm almost reluctant to reveal this "find," because next time I want to make a reservation there may be no rooms available!

  • Liked — Alice and Trish, the owner-operators
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank random_reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneseo, IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2008

in the porch room where i stayed, they had very comfy beds. in the morning the breakfast was always wonderful, especially the cowboy coffee cake! i stayed 4 nites in mackinac, which was enough to experience the fudge, fort, and state park. the rate was decent for the expensive island. ive learned after a while you don't notice the smell of the horse poo anymore. my vacation here was very relaxing with the help of bogan lane inn! quick tip: bring bikes with you to mackinac, or else face the wrath of the $5 per hour bike rental fee.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — noise outside from other b+bs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dellett6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, MI
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

One of many charming old homes on the Island offering Bed and Breakfast. Although there are no private bathrooms, only two bed rooms share. The owner has lived on the Island all of her life and is very knowledgable about its history and culture.

Breakfast is simple, but the rate is what stands out on this very expensive Island. $85 for two per night.

Location is perfect, just East of the Fort and away from the noise of the main street.

You can't beat this bargain.

  • Liked — Location, price and the owners
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tenormary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
893 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
720 reviews
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
952 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bogan Lane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogan Lane Inn

Property: Bogan Lane Inn
Address: Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing