We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pontiac Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pontiac Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here during a snowmobile trip this past winter. The owner was very helpful as we called him on his cell phone (according to directions posted on the door) and he met us at the Pontiac Lodge within an hour to give us a room key.

The room was VERY nice and clean. Right next door to a bar and restaurant. I would definitely recommend staying here, great location right downtown.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amatz1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    46
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
57
71
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
southgate
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

the hotel is a very nice place to stay. one thing I didn't care for were the stairs. we go in and out all day long, and the stairs are a killer. also, you have to go to the park if you want to sit and people watch, being this is on a second floor. but the place was still a good, clean hotel.

Room Tip: if you have a large group, there's a huge apartment-like room. big kitchen, fridge, oven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

After visiting the island many times over the past 10 years, I stayed at the Pontiac Lodge during the winter season. It was very nice inside the room. The room is painted in tasteful colors, the bathroom has nice fixtures, and the room had a wet bar including a dorm frig. The gal who checked me in was very friendly and help me carry my luggage upstairs. My room was #24 and it had a living room. All the furnishing were in very good shape. With this hotel, you do not get a breakfast so keep that in mind but it was not an issue for me. I would highly recommend the Pontiac Lodge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonnepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We planned our visit to Mackinaw Island knowing that it would be quiet and relaxing... what we received was so much more. We arrived on the ferry and were taken to the Pontiac Lodge by horse and carriage. The check in was efficient and friendly. Our room (#23) was clean, nicely equipped with all the necessities. The bed was comfortable and the view was beautiful. VERY QUIET. Because of the time of year, we did have some snowmobile noise buzzing by the hotel occasionally, but it was not annoying, in fact it was kind of nice. We spent the two days walking and visiting with locals in the 2 restaurants/bars still open in the winter. Brad and Brandi at the Mustang were AWESOME and Jesse at the Village Inn was so friendly and helpful. On the second night, we waited too long to eat and the kitchen was closed at the village Inn by time we arrived.. We collected cheese and crackers from our room and sat at the bar and had a nice snack. Jesse kindly offered plates, napkins and even washed our "cheese cutter" for us before we left. Be became "locals" for 2 days and were included in local conversation and fun. If you are looking for excitement... look somewhere else. Winter vacationing is LOW key on Mackinaw island... but so relaxing and VERY romantic.
On our last morning, there was a knock at the door of our room. It was Allen from the Hotel. He told us that the ferry was "iced in" in St. Ignace and we would not be able to get across by Ferry. He stated that the planes may be flying later in the day, but were not currently flying due to poor visibility. We called and got on a wait list to fly over to St. Ignace, and then went to the Mustang to "wait it out". Word came through about 3pm that the "Huron" had broken free and was going to attempt to get to the Island for one trip around 4pm. We hustled to get our things collected and get down to the dock to wait for the Ferry. Once we arrived at the dock, I realized that in the rush, I left my glasses in the room. I called Allen from the Pontiac Lodge and he told me he would check the room and run them to me. Sure enough, 10 minutes later, Allen arrived at the dock with my glasses. Above and Beyond.. That was the general theme of the entire trip. We will return next winter with hopes of seeing familiar faces and hopefully getting "stranded" again.
-Nancy and Matt

Room Tip: Room #23 had a very nice and clean whirlpool jetted tub. It was a nice relaxing bonus after walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nunu49855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We very much enjoyed a return visit to Mackinac Island after having owned a condo there for several years. Clean and comfortable bed and furnishings, as well as Wi-Fi. Having a microwave and fridge was a big plus as well. Very convenient to the main street and all of the activities. Also economically priced for the Island. I can imagine it would be very noisy at the height of the summer season, but it wasn't bad in mid-September. Overall nice place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scienceczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holdrege
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a great place to stay! The rooms are clean and decorated very nice with a sailboat theme. I love how the rooms are right on main street and you wake up in the morning, to the sound of the horses clip clopping down the street. It was nice to have a frig and microwave, we went to the grocery store and bought some snacks and drinks. You do have to go up a flight of stairs, which was not a problem for us. We keep our bikes, under the stairs, which is nice to have a place for them. The staff was very nice and helpful, we needed somewhere to put our luggage after we checked out, because we wanted to stay longer on the island. They let us keep our luggage in their office. They were so very nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place was great! The room was very clean and tastefully decorated, and everyone was very friendly. For Mackinac Island, the price was reasonable. We stayed in room 23 which had views of the Round Island lighthouse and the piers. In the evenings, we could watch the sun set. The only downside is we were right on the corner of Main and Hoban, and it was a bit noisy during the day when everyone was out and about on the street. But we were hardly in our room during the day anyway so it wasn't a real issue.

Room Tip: Room 23 has great views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 934melanied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontiac Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontiac Lodge

Property: Pontiac Lodge
Address: 1376 Hoban St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-5151
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pontiac Lodge is a an intimate boutique hotel located in the heart of downtown Mackinac Island. Offering suites, king rooms with Jacuzzi tubs, and rooms with one or two queen beds. Most of our rooms feature wet-bars,small refrigerators and microwave ovens. We are located above the specialty shops on Main Street and are only accessible by stairway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pontiac Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing