We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip this place”

Draught House and Mary's Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Howell, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Skip this place”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After walking around the beautiful island Mary's Bistro on the water looked like a promising spot to enjoy our first meal on Mackinac. It wasn't. This is a perfect example of not judging a book by its cover. Nice looking place, but the food was close to inedible. We ordered two pizzas - the tomato basil and pepperoni. Perhaps their oven or their chef were "off" that day, but the pizzas were limp and soggy. The sweet potato fries tasted like ones from the frozen food section of the grocery store (not made from scratch and fresh sweet potatoes) ...and the service was inattentive and barely acceptable. We left feeling as if we had been conned. Spent more money than we would have liked, and still hungry for some good food!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    175
    68
    51
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad service.”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We were seated on the patio where 2 other couples were eating. It took 15 minutes for the waitress to arrive because she was flirting with the grill cook (which was right in front of us as they grill out on the patio). When the food was cooked, it sat on the counter for 10 minutes - we were looking at it - while this time the waitress flirted with the bartender. When she did finally bring over the two hamburgers, they were well done when we had ordered medium rare.

I would not eat here again as there are many other fabulous options on the island where the food is good and/or the service acceptable. Even one of the above would have salvaged this experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jessi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had lunch on the patio the food was good and the atmoshere was pleasant. I would recommend Mary's for lunch while on the island

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wigsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza I've ever had!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I ordered a basil & tomato pizza, and it was INCREDIBLE! Also had a brownie for dessert and it hit the spot. This place is expensive but really good. Definitely worth the money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food, though a bit pricey”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Mary's has creative menu choices and very tasty food, but it's rather pricey. The menu items and prices bring to mind a gourmet spot, but it IS a bistro and that's the atmosphere you'll be getting. The best part about Mary's in my opinion is the ability to sit out on the back deck right on the water, which you *surprisingly* can't do at very many places on the island. This has always been puzzling to me, but you can dine on the water here!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank AM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Draught House and Mary's Bistro also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Draught House and Mary's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing