We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food!”

Cawthorne's Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Our group of 14 visited the island over President's Day weekend. Since there was only one other dining experience open, we found ourselves here for three meals. Our dining experience got better with each meal.
Our first meal, at lunchtime, was served to us by a server who was unhappy and rude to us. The food, on the other hand, made up for our server! The Chicken Corn Chowder and French Onion Soup were fabulous!
Our second dining experience was for lunch the following day. Again, we seemed to draw the short straw and were served by the same server. After being rude to our group, she walked away. She happened to overhear our group discussing her rudeness and for the rest of our lunch she pulled it together and was nice. I feel I should note that we are an easy going group, just happy to enjoy each other's company.
Our third dining experience will bring me back to Cawthorne's Village Inn on every trip to the island. We were fortunate enough to have Jody as our server! What a breath of fresh air! She was kind, attentive and all around fabulous! That girl deserves a huge pat on the back! We all left saying what a shame it was that she had not been working on our two prior dining experiences!
In all, the food was absolutely delicious! With the right server, you'll love this place!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rebeccadb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    84
    42
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Warming up on a cold day”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

A group on a snowmobile excursion stopped in and had lunch here. They were very accommodating to snowmobilers, with a separate room to hold helmets, jackets and such. It was a bit hinkey going into and out of the changing room and then trying to get into the restaurant, but doable. The setting is very welcoming, as was the staff. Service was prompt and the whitefish sandwich was on special. The portion was huge and very delicious. I was impressed with the decor and the service. One of the best meals I have had on the island.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rrileyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant/bar on the Island”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Village Inn is mine and my fiances favorite place on the island. He actually proposed to me there on New Years Eve this year. Their food is amazing and the service is even better. The manager is by far the hardest working individual I have ever met. The bartenders are amazing, they make us not feel like tourists, they treat us more like locals which is very comforting. We will be coming back here for the years to come.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Taylor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, MI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good times.”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our winter dining and spirits. The service was friendly and (for the most part) effecient. For a winter get-away, it's a very good option. If you want the Grand Hotel dining experience--visit in the summer. I was particularly impressed with the blackend whitefish sandwich.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JhawkerMattawan_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Jesse is AWESOME”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A great place to stop in and eat.. or visit at the bar. One of the two open bars/restaurants in Mac Island in the winter. Friendly!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nunu49855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cawthorne's Village Inn also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Cawthorne's Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing