We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, poor food for the price and service not great”

Cawthorne's Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Saunderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing, poor food for the price and service not great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Really disappointed with the food and the service. We ordered 2 meals, the strip steak with mashed potatoes and planked whitefish. The mashed potatoes with the steak were cold and I had to send it back. They were not much better at the 2nd attempt (tasty, but still tepid at best). Service-wise, not once were we asked if everything was OK or any apology for the cold food, not even after the return of the potatoes. The whitefish was average at best (overcooked). The only thing in terms of service that seemed to be given due attention was the arrival of the check. We shall not be returning. Not sure if I would want to give any more money to any other Grand Hotel affilliated establishment, which is difficult to achieve on this island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GL76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    74
    41
    21
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very good and the staff was excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We came with a large party, actually crew from the Port Huron to Macinaw Race, and the staff was wonderful. The seating was a little tight with back to back tables in a corner, but we made due. The food was very good and two in our party got the Whitefish which is a specialty. Also the appetizer of calamari is excellent as are the BBQ ribs.

Would highly recommend the Village Inn and though a little pricey as is everything on the island, the staff makes it well worth the visit. I can't remember our waiter's name, but he was wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarrieMI2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food a little expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I had the plank white fish. I asked them for no lemon butter or additional oils. It was great. Lots of veggie and mashed potatoes which I shared.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect as usual”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been visiting Mackinac Island for 17 years. Always my first stop for food. Oak planked white fish is great. It's now owned by the Grand Hotel so has to be good

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pab204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First visit, probably our last”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

First time on the island for my sisters wedding, had and informal lunch here on Saturday. We had a table of 12. Not sure if they forgot about us or what, but it took forever to get food (an hour later). There was about 4 other tables, one with 8 people, that came in after us and they were served before us!!! But the 4 people that ordered the chicken breast sandwich "special" of the day got their food about 10 or 15 minutes after the rest of us. (2 of them were the bride and groom). I had the wild rice soup which was blah in flavor and thick....I could have ate it with a fork actually. We should have just sat at separate tables...maybe we would have eaten sooner. Oh...and $11 for a hotdog? Wow..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twogr8ize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cawthorne's Village Inn also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Cawthorne's Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing