We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and prices!”

Cawthorne's Village Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Mackinaw City, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, service and prices!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I frequent the Island on a weekly basis in the summer just so we can enjoy a meal at the Village Inn and or the Gatehouse Restaurant. They both have wonderful food, friendly service and you get a lot for your dollar. We have never been disappointed and always look forward to our weekly treat. Thank you Village Inn and Gatehouse Restaurant! You are the best.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    80
    42
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food, good for families”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We've been here a few times, and they've always treated us well. The beer selection is really nice - they have a lot of beers from a variety of Michigan breweries. The food is quite good too - I can recommend the whitefish. It's got a nice bar that's a good place to stop for a drink.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ca_geologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia pa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Planked Whitefish”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

All time favorite at the Village Inn for many years is the Planked Whitefish. Still a great meal even though new management has taken over Cawthornes the Inn this year. Good draft beer at reasonable prices also.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWDphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ortonville, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Include a visit here!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The food at Village Inn is consistenly good so we are sure to always include a visit there each year we come to the island. Their servers are friendly and attentive also.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PT1545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food and service was great”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Me and a few friends stopped in on our first trip to Mackinac island
People we talked to said to stop in there
So we did food and service was great
Our server Katie was the best ever( and she is so hot ) we had a table near the kitchen so we heard everything the chef had to say and thought he was a very rude mean person
I'll be back again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mackinacislandguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cawthorne's Village Inn also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Cawthorne's Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing