We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at the Market Streen Inn”
Review of Market Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Market Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay of two nights in room #5 at the Market Street Inn. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and the innkeeper Kristin and staff were wonderful hosts in making our anniversary a memorable one.

Market Street Inn has 9 guest rooms. Room #5 is above the main entry way to the house but was very quiet. A cozy comfortable room that was great for catching those mid afternoon naps!

A wonderful continental breakfast is served each morning and we recommend taking it in the garden patio. Local muffins and bagels with fresh fruit and juices were great. While enjoying breakfast on the garden patio, you will most likely also enjoy the company of other guests at the inn as well as Rocky the squirrel and Chip (or maybe it was Dale) the chipmunk.

Mackinac Island is a wonderful get-a-way and the Market Street Inn is located just one block from the main street and all the great places to shop and eat. On the corner opposite Fort Mackinac and within easy walking distance of everything in town.

We also highly recommend a bike ride around the 8 mile perimeter of the island. Easy ride with wonderful views. Or if you prefer, a horse and buggy ride is a great way to see the island.

We will most definitely be back to Mackinac Island and the Market Street Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 337 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2010

The sounds of rain during the night were replaced by sun in the morning accompanied by the clip-clop of hooves. Market Street Inn is just enough off the beaten path to allow these sounds to be savored. Located conveniently next to Fort Mackinac and right around the corner from many restaurants, shops and even a grocer we found the location ideal. Breakfast each morning was scrumptious and just right to sustain us through lunch. PLUS it was served in the choice of either our room, the parlor or the serene garden. Though our room was air conditioned we did not need it because the ceiling fan and outdoor temperature made sleeping a delight. Everything was well appointed and not "over the top" Victorian. The innkeeper Kristen made us feel like we had a personal guide to all we wanted to do, even having time to chat. The guests ranged from newlyweds to those celebrating long time anniveraries, and just those on vacation. The Garden Suite sounded ideal for those needing a little more room. Would love to go back...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarazas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

First time we ever stayed at a B&B. If this is lodging option of choice - then you absolutely can't go wrong here. We selected based strictly on the web-site & hit a home run. Quiet, quaint, perfect amount of quiet time & service. Definitely will recomend to others.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theperryboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

The innkeeper definitely lived up to their motto of "exceeding expectations." From the cute garden to the yummy breakfast, everything was just perfect. Would definitely recommend to a friend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbcromwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Wonderful place to stay on the island. Very clean. The 3 ladies that work there couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. Always going above and beyond every chance they got. The room was very comfortable. They would deliver your breakfast in either your room, the charming parlor, or the beautiful backyard garden patio. I chose this Inn (B&B) based on the reviews I read here, and the place didn't disappoint. Loved it and can't wait to go back. Already recommended it and handed out their cards to several people.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We loved the Market Street Inn and will stay there again the next time we go to Mackinac Island. The innkeeper, Kristen, made us feel right at home during our four-night stay. She took the time to talk to us about our outings with genuine interest, provided ample information about restaurants, had umbrellas available on a rainy day, and even offered me a sweatshirt when it was a bit chilly. Kristen's intern, Chloe, was equally friendly and hospitable. Our room was pretty and clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We spent little time in the room, as summer days are very long on the island, but in the evenings I enjoyed reading books about the island which I borrowed from the parlor. Also, the free wireless internet came in handy.
This was our second stay on Mackinac Island, and we spent our time exploring much of the island on both trips, but there is still more to see! The island offers many natural places of interest and miles of trails in and out of the woods. The Market Street Inn was the perfect place to put up our feet at the end of each day. It was much more enjoyable than our previous stay at one of the large hotels on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fauxred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

I traveled with my wife and 2 and a half year old son. First time at a bed and breakfast for all three of us. Cute little garden and front porch for a warm welcome. Lobby is nice & cozy with hard wood floors and a parlor area directly off of the entarance. The parlor had about 3 wrought-iron bistro tables with 2 chairs each, a single arm chair and a love seat. Small cove in the parlor has a mini public fridge with a sink, hot water and multiple flavors of teas. The area is available to use 24 hours a day. They also placed fresh made chocoalte chunk cookies near the enterance every afternoon that were irresistable.

Location was perfect. Right accross the street from the Fort's park where our son could run around and right around the corner from all the action on Main Street (including a local grocer, restaurants and ice-cream places).

Kristin the innkeeper was very pleasant and friendly. She chatted with us on numerous occassions. She also brought us breakfast every morning to our room on serving trays (we could have had it in the parlor or the garden). We selected what we wanted for breakfast each night with a simple form that we dropped off in the lobby (allowed us to select between tea vs. coffee, muffin/bagel/cinnamon roll, juices, fresh fruit, boiled egg).

The room itself was amazing. King room was spacious and very nice. Plenty of space on the four post king bed for our 2 year-old to sleep with us. Ceiling fan was great for circulating air. Room had an in-room AC unit with remote control. Included night stands with lamps on each side of the bed plus a chest to put our clothes away in. Also a small open closet like area in the corner. Enough space for a large suitcase and a few hangers that are provided. Right across from the bed is a jacuzzi where we gave our son a bath without the jets going of course. We didn't really get to use it ourselves but it was very clean and nice. It even had curtains to conceal the jacuzzi or to give you some privacy if were in it. The bathroom was standard with a single shower. Everything was nicely updated. There 2 single sofa seats on one end of the room. They looked fairly new and very clean. On the same side of the room was a mini fridge which we made use of for our kid's milk and some snacks. There was a flat 32" TV mounted in the upper corner of the room which worked well.

There is a beautiful garden area in the back with wrought iron tables/chairs and cloth umbrellas. Weather was a bit chilly for us to have breakfast out there in mid-May but imagine this would be a great spot to enjoy meals or drinks with slightly warmer weather.

For our first time at Mackinac Island I believe we got lucky and stayed at such an amazing place. We cannot compare it to other places on the island but for us our needs were met and that is saying a lot with a 2 year old in tow.

Had a wonderful stay and experience. Would recommend it highly to others and definately would come back myself.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vipgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#6 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Address: PO Box 224, 4973 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0224
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the charming Market Street Inn on beautiful, historic Mackinac Island. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast served in your room, the parlor or our guests favorite, the garden courtyard. Built in 1900, each room awaits you with modern amenities yet with turn of the century charm. Located on quaint and quiet Market Steet, the front porch holds views of Fort Mackinac. A short walk around the corner and you are at the beginning of town where restaurants and shops abound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Market Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing