We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt like I was visiting family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Market Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Market Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“Felt like I was visiting family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

We loved our stay at Market Street Inn! The most impressive thing for me was that I was welcomed to the inn with open arms as if I were family or an honored guest. Kristen, the innkeeper, gave us helpful tips, a dining guide and maps, and even lent us some of her gloves since it was really cold. We stayed in a queen room and it was pretty, clean and had a very nice bathroom. Our friends stayed in the garden suite and a king room which were both wonderful. The king room had a really nice looking jacuzzi, and the garden room was spacious and comfortable, complete with a bedroom, small living room and kitchen area with a microwave and fridge. We had a choice of eating breakfast in the parlor or our room (I think outside might also have been an option, but since we were there in May it was a bit cold for that). Breakfast included a hot drink, juice, choice of cinnamon roll, bagel or muffin, fruit and an egg. We had access to hot tea any time we wanted and there were fresh cookies waiting for us every afternoon. All of this and it was also very reasonably priced (especially since we were early in the season).
It was a great stay and I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeidiLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
190
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2009

We took our first trip to Mackinac Island in the beginning of October and had a great time. Due to bad weather we weren't able to make the last ferry to the island for our original check in time but first thing the next morning Ann was ready for us, complete with breakfast. The room we stayed in was quaint and nicely decorated. It had a wonderful view of Fort Mackinac. We enjoyed having the option to eat breakfast in the parlor and talk with the other guests. The breakfast options were great and very filling. This was our first time ever staying at a B&B and we questioned if we were making the right choice. We absolutely did! We loved it and will return again next year.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miszka17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

I needed a couple days away and Mackinac Island is my favorite place to be! I had never stayed at the Market St. Inn, and am I ever glad I did! It is quaint, clean, and a wonderful place to get away from it all. The innkeepers, Ann and Dave Colman have really made the Inn a special place to come...they are friendly and understand how important it is for people to feel welcome. They are the ones that really made my stay a happy one!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mica53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

This was my first stay on the island. I was highly looking forward to the trip, and our stay here exceeded my expectations! We took the Arnold ferry over from St. Ignace, a lucky choice of the three ferry lines, as the Arnold ferry dock was the closest to our Inn.....about a 3-4 minute walk! They had our bags ticketed for the Inn at the dock when we departed St. Ignace, and our bags were waiting for us when we got to the Inn. No glitches what so ever, very smooth. We were greeted by Dave's son Aaron, who answered our questions about places to dine and nightlife with mulitple choices to choose from. He was very pleasant, and showed us to our room explaining about how breakfast works, and about the features of our room. As with most of the B & B's on the island, Market Street Inn is over 100 years old, so don't expect your room to be overly huge by todays standards. Rooms back then were a bit smaller than what we have grown accustomed to. So while our queen room was a bit "close", we expected that and were very impressed with the upkeep, painting, flat screen tv, private bath area, and closet/drawer space!! Our room had serperate heat controls for the bedroom and bath area, and they worked perfectly! Also, there was an air conditioner in our room but being mid - October we sadly didn't have use for it : (. When we awoke each morning and went down to breakfast at our desired time, it had just been placed in the parlor and was still nice and hot awaiting us. Coffee, tea, juice, bagels, hard boiled eggs, a fresh sliced fruit cup of several fruits including kiwi, pineapple, strawberry, grapes were delicious. Along with a scrumptious warm cinnamon roll with plenty of cream frosting. YUM!!The Inn is perfectly located just a minute's walk from main street. We also talked with Dave at length one morning and got all the history one could want about the Inn, along with some history of the Island. He was extreemly friendly to us and very knowledgeable. The Inn was immaculate in cleanliness. Our room for the weekend nights ran $135 plus tax, which is a bit of a discount because of the off season rates, which I believe are about $40 more per night in mid summer. With many B & B rooms going for much more than this we found it a very good bargain, at a charming friendly Inn. And can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cohibaIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

The inn is at a perfect location for walking everywhere! The room was cute, clean and the inn keepers were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was great and perfect size . We would definately stay here again and recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenhox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

My husband and I traveled to Mackinac Island for the first time with my sister and her husband. The Inn was just beautiful and perfectly located on Market Street, away from bustling Main Street, but close to everything. It was our first stay at a B&B, and I feel we made a great choice. The Innkeepers, Ann and Dave, were friendly and gave us tips on what to see on the island and good places to eat (and buy fudge)! The rooms were spacious enough and nicely decorated. Breakfast was good and filling. Hearing the clip clop of the horses going past the Inn was so charming and relaxing. I highly recommend the Inn to anyone staying on Mackinac Island!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pugdog64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, MI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

This is an great place to unwind. The Inn is convenient to all the Island's attractions. It is well maintained, clean and reflects the early American charm associated with Mackinaw Island. The staff is very attentive to their guests and the breakfast offering is a real plus.
You will enjoy this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gwieneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Property: Market Street Inn
Address: PO Box 224, 4973 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0224
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the charming Market Street Inn on beautiful, historic Mackinac Island. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast served in your room, the parlor or our guests favorite, the garden courtyard. Built in 1900, each room awaits you with modern amenities yet with turn of the century charm. Located on quaint and quiet Market Steet, the front porch holds views of Fort Mackinac. A short walk around the corner and you are at the beginning of town where restaurants and shops abound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Market Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing