We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!!!”
Review of Market Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Market Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2009

The Inn is over 100 years old and is located on Mackinac Island, a vacation community without cars. It is located at the base of Ft. Mackinac. Our room was beautifully done, very peaceful, the inn was full of antiques. The innkeepers, David and Ann, provided excellent service and advice on what to see and do, local restaurants, etc. We had a choice each morning of where we would like to have breakfast served. The flowers and gardens were beautiful. We will definitely visit again. The Inn also has 7 rooms and 2 suites.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stitcher62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 337 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2009

I have been staying at the Market Street Inn for the last 2 years (multiple times per season). The Inn is so convieniantly located just one block or less inland from Main St... which provides a quiet and charming atmosphere. The breakfast is always the best.... fresh baked goods, eggs, and juices are sure to satisfy. Overlooking the Fort, and Marquette Park provide lovely views. I will surely be here year after year, and will continue reccommending it to all of my friends and family!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roelfed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

This is the third time my Mom and I have stayed at the Market Street Inn. We love it there. Ann and Dave Colman make you feel welcome and right at home. They have the Inn beautifully decorated, You can relax and enjoy the island in the charming front parlor, the lovely back court yard or on the great front porch. We took advantage of all three. An awesome place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank alicew55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

The Inn is very convenient, just off the main street so as to reduce (but not eliminate) the clip/clop of horses and the chatter of the tour guides. All that stops around 10pm and starts back up at 8am. The continental breakfast was nice, not too much. Interestingly you could select where you wanted your breakfast served -- in your room, on the porch or back garden, or in the parlor. Our room was small but nicely appointed; with only one chair in it, our breakfast was more conveniently eaten other than in the room. The only reason I haven't rated the experience "excellent" is that there was a bit of mildew around the drain and the back of the bathroom sink, dust on top of the doorframe and fruit fly carcasses on the window sill. Other than that the room was spic and span and the bed/bedding very inviting. The innkeeper also helped arrange a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to help us celebrate our anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank co64penny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed at the Market Street Inn from 8/27 till 9/1. When we contacted Ann (innkeeper) a couple months prior to book our stay, the only thing available for that time was a standard room. Upon arriving we found out the Garden Ste was available for the first 2 nights of our stay. We chose the Garden Ste. It is much more private than the Standard Rm. You do not have to enter the Inn to get to the room. It's around the side of the house in the basement. Although the space is bigger because of the little sitting room and kitchenette the bathroom is much smaller then the Standard Rm with a very small 1 person shower. The bed was very uncomfortable and quite loud. The next 2 nights we stayed in the Standard Rm. The bed was a little more comfortable then the Garden Ste and bathroom and shower bigger, but the room was very, very small. There was not much room to move around, stretch. I did feel very claustrophobic. From the Standard Rm that we stayed the view from our bedroom window was the Fort which did help a little to keep the blind open during the day if we needed to come back and rest. I would say do not stay in the Standard Rm if you need space, do not stay in the Garden Ste if you need a comfortable bed and a roomy shower. I WILL TELL YOU I'M A VERY PARTICULAR PERSON. Maybe spend a little extra money and stay in the Jacuzzi Ste. The innkeepers Ann and Dave Colman, we only really talked with Ann--her husband helped move luggage with us--were accomodating but quiet. She shared a little information about the home and it's history, gave us direction, places to eat...tour...walk...we didn't see them after we arrived. I do feel the location of Market Street Inn was perfect. It is perfectly centered around everything on the Island.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lorikraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

We were married in the back courtyard June 1, 2007 and followed with our honeymoon. The inn keeper, whos name escapes me as I write this, made sure our day was perfect. The owners did not tell her there was to be a wedding in the back courtyard in 2 dyas for 35 people, but she took the challenge and it was beautiful! We were married in front of the fountain and it was the perfect spot. Every night before 6pm you can mark what you want for breafast and at what time and location you want it. It really was nice. The choices are front porch, back courtyard, room, or parlor. Many options for breakfast also. The innkeeper made you feel like you were visiting family and that made the whole trip more personal. She would often come sit with us to ask about our trip and make suggestions. We each have been coming to the island for years but it was so nice to have that personal attention. She made our wedding run smooth and when we got back to our room later that night they had made a towel swan, had champagne chilling, and chocolate covered strawberries waiting to congratulate us. Like I said we have been staying for years on Mackinac so we upgraded our room to the 1st floor juccuzi suite and it was BEAUTIFUL!!! It was the best week we could have ever asked for and we'll be back this June to celebrate our 1yr anniversary

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lindipindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Market Street Inn is a fabulous find on Mackinac Island. Granted, it doesn't have a water view, but it's in a great location right by Fort Michillimackinac and one block off the main drag. I've been there twice, and both times the rooms were immaculate, and the breakfast isn't huge, but it's nice to have homemade muffins on the back porch. I thought that for such a small B&B that you'd be able to hear other guests, but I never heard anyone, and there was a wedding party staying there while we were! The owners are extremely friendly, and I enjoyed the variety of little accoutrements that they provide (i.e. wine glasses for the delicious cherry wine we bought!). The owners are also extremely helpful for directions and letting you know whats fun to do on the island. I highly recommend this B&B for those who want to stay overnight on the island without spending a ridiculous amount of money.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank eliz7811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,088 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
670 reviews
0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,056 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
783 reviews
5.8 mi away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 29 in Saint Ignace
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Address: PO Box 224, 4973 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0224
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the charming Market Street Inn on beautiful, historic Mackinac Island. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast served in your room, the parlor or our guests favorite, the garden courtyard. Built in 1900, each room awaits you with modern amenities yet with turn of the century charm. Located on quaint and quiet Market Steet, the front porch holds views of Fort Mackinac. A short walk around the corner and you are at the beginning of town where restaurants and shops abound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Market Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing