We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Market Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Market Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I spent four nights at the Market Street Inn and cannot think of anything that would have made our stay better. Kristen was very knowledgeable about the island and all of the information and suggestions she made were exactly as she said. We were very pleased with the location of the Inn and felt we could not have picked a better location. We enjoyed people watching from the porch and eating on the patio. We will recommend the Inn to everyone we know and will definitely stay here any time we have a chance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Market Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 328 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I spent two days at the Market Street Inn, our first visit to Mackinac Island. The inn exceeded our expectations. Kristen was so friendly and helpful, we felt like we were visiting a friend, flexible to our needs. The inn is centrally located, and close to many of the restaurants and attractions we tried. Very quiet, clean, comfortable, and well decorated. Our room was a standard queen with TV/free internet/ and large bath. Little things like the hair dryer, and soft robes are included. Breakfast on the patio was pleasant with plenty of really good coffee. We valued the inn because it is smaller and more personal than some of the larger hotels, yet with lots of quality.

Room Tip: Standard 1st floor room with queen bed. I did not see an elevator to the 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnrw52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice B&B close to many attractions. Our host Kristen was very friendly, knowledgable and accessible. Her restaurant tips were very helpful. The rooms were comfortable and the back patio was great for breakfast. Our group had 4 rooms and no complaints. We enjoyed meeting Kristen and she made our Mackinac Island experience a great memory.

Room Tip: Room 4 and the garden room are a good choice. All rooms we saw were nicely decorated.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sxmloverx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Market Street Inn has a lot going for it: Kristen and her amazing staff, relatively inexpensive rooms for the island, great location, great amenities, tasty snacks, and again did I mention how incredibly helpful Kristen is (the best!).

Unfortunately, we would not stay here again if we returned because of the terrible noise that woke us up multiple times from others at the Inn. There was a family of about 6-8 folks also staying at the inn (all adults, no kids) who seemed to think that they could have the run of the place and were yelling in the halls at midnight and talking loudly outside at all hours. My husband and I mentioned this to Kristen in the morning and she was very apologetic and said she herself and asked them to be quiet as well. She said the family was wanting to come back again next year but that they would have to understand that that sort of behavior wasn't allowed at the inn. I do know that Kristen took the issue very seriously and I appreciate that. But for us, we just wouldn't be able to take the risk again that other noisy guests (and the thin walls of the inn) would spoil our stay and so, I'm sad to say, we would not stay at Market Street Inn if back again.

Room Tip: Room 205 has a good view but lots of street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristen B, Manager at Market Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

It is so hard to even know what to say except the guests who were noisy will not be returning. My deepest apologies for what should have been a wonderful stay. Sincerely, Kristen B. Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay at the Market Street Inn! The location was perfect; practically next door to the fort and a short walk to down town. We stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite, which we highly recommend. The jacuzzi was fantastic! Kristen and Mallory made us feel right at home and even left champagne in our fridge, as we were celebrating our 5th anniversary. Can't say enough nice things about the Market Street Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and it couldn't have been any better. Great location, comfortable rooms(we stayed in two different rooms), very nice breakfast. You have a choice of what you want and where you want breakfast. Beds are very comfortable. Kristen and her staff are the best. Will stay there again when we visit next time.

Room Tip: King rooms are worth the little extra.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohiograndpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Inn is close to everything, but is away from the hub bub of the main street and generally quiet. The Courtyard is such an enjoyable place to sit and relax. The rooms are nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and comfortable. A fridge is available for guest use along with coffee, tea, hot water, and an ice machine. Quaint, but still with all the modern amenities. The afternoon cookies and evening fudge were a real treat. Besides the dining area, we enjoyed the fact that we could order our breakfast brought to our room or the courtyard. Kristin and her staff were exceptional - always available and accommodating. We traveled with three other couples and all thought Market Street Inn was top notch!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nas40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
Lilac Tree Suites & Spa
#3 of 12 in Mackinac Island
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Address: PO Box 224, 4973 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0224
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the charming Market Street Inn on beautiful, historic Mackinac Island. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast served in your room, the parlor or our guests favorite, the garden courtyard. Built in 1900, each room awaits you with modern amenities yet with turn of the century charm. Located on quaint and quiet Market Steet, the front porch holds views of Fort Mackinac. A short walk around the corner and you are at the beginning of town where restaurants and shops abound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Market Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing