We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Market Street Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Market Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Market Street Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Berkley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Market Street Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I try to stay at the Market Street Inn at least once a year. We have been going for our anniversary almost every year for the past ten years and we love it there. Our stay is always so peaceful and enjoyable. We always get the room with the jet tub jacuzzi and it is nice to relax after a day spent, walking, hiking and biking. Kristen is so wonderful and she always makes us feel special and takes great care of us. I recommend this Inn to anyone looking to stay at a quiet, peaceful B & B with a great breakfast and wonderful customer service. We are going to keep coming back to Market Street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
190
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I wanted to spend my 30th birthday on Mackinaw Island but we weren't sure where to stay as we haven't been there in several years. I did a little research, thought a bed and breakfast could be fun and came across Market Street Inn.

Our stay was PERFECT.

Kristen was a great host and her staff amazingly helpful and friendly. We stayed in the main level King Jacuzzi room which was the best idea I have ever made after spending a day walking, hiking, and biking. Our room was cute and clean and our bed was SO comfortable! (we even checked the tag on the sheets as we went and bought the same for our own bed when we got home!) We got to check in hours early, the staff immediately started giving us info on what to do, where to eat and lots of little tips. For breakfast you can choose to have it delivered to your room, the garden courtyard or the foyer room. We opted for the garden courtyard both mornings and it was so serene. A great choice for a smooth transition into the day!

We want to make this a yearly thing now. I can't envision staying anywhere else after having such a personal touch added to our mini vacation by these great people.

Room Tip: If you are an active person, go for the jacuzzi room to relax your muscles after a LONG day on the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KtripMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is the third year that we stayed at the Market Street Inn. It is one block from the Arnold Ferry, a block up from the main street and next to the park/Fort. Breakfast of beverage, fruit, muffin and hard boiled egg is served in your room, on the front porch, or in the secluded back yard. Beverages are available any time in the living room, and fudge and cookies are the afternoon treat.Two rooms have a Jacuzzi tub, and they provided a bottle of bubbly for our anniversary. Centrally located, it is quieter than main street and convenient to all attractions, rentals, and fudge shops. The innkeeper is friendly, helpful, and upbeat - even when the electric power went out while she served breakfast. Every attention to details. Exceptionally clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 802064512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first time at staying at a bed & breakfast and we were pleasantly surprised. All the little details made our stay very enjoyable. The staff was very friendly, the breakfasts were very good, (with the option of selecting various items and having it delivered to your room, the parlor or the outside patio) and the afternoon cookies and fudge were delicious. The location on Market Street Inn was perfect. It was quiet, but yet just around the corner from all the activity. It was nice being just across the street from the Fort so we could watch the raising and lowering of the flags. It was close to the ferry buildings so easily walkable w/ luggage...(and bikes in our case). Highly recommend The Market Street Inn and hope to go back soon!!

Room Tip: View pictures of the rooms online. All rooms have private bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank slsorenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our stay at the Market Street Inn was just lovely. Kristen, the innkeeper was great and she was very accommodating. We stayed in the garden suite which was very private, very clean and beautifully decorated. A lot of attention to detail. They even gave us a little anniversary surprise in the frig. We would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kwryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have stayed at this Inn several consecutive years. Each and every time we are pleased over and above the time before. The rooms are extremely clean, the Innkeeper and staff are very genuine, cheery, welcoming, and nice, and there are little extras that make it "homey," such as cookies and fudge in the afternoon, pre-stamped postcards in our room, and quilts available for snuggling up on the porch. And did I mention the fluffy robes in the room? They were great.

We will continue to stay at Market Street Inn as long as we continue to go to Mackinac Island. This past year was our 25th consecutive year going to the island, and we've stayed at several places on the island over the years; we've found this Inn to be the best. Another feature is that it's not too large and has a homey feel.

A nice perk to staying at this Inn is that you will also get free tickets to the great Butterfly House on the island.

In addition to the great experience here, the Inn is centrally located (but not on the busier main street), which makes it nice to run back to in order to stash a purchase or grab a jacket, etc.

Also, (and this is a big thing for us), the room "refreshing" was quickly done earlier in the morning (after we left for excursions) so we did not have to wait around for it to get done later in the day, as we have had to do with other inns in the past.

We HIGHLY recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Book early. In the rooms on the Fort side, you can hear "taps" at night. The Jacuzzi King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

It has been nearly a year since our last stay at Market Street Inn and it was just as wonderful this time as the last. The inn is wonderful and extremely clean but what really makes the experience a memorable time is the staff; Kristen, Paula, Mallory, and Phoebe are FANTASTIC. Through conversation Kristen knew that my grandmother had passed away recently and when my mom and I entered our room there was a note saying, "In memory of your mother and grandmother" with some fresh cut lilacs. It brought us to tears and we are filled with gratitude for their thoughtfulness. It was a wonderful week and we will return again at some point in the future. Thank you!!

Room Tip: There are two rooms that have jacuzzi tubs. I would definitely suggest one of those rooms if at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faith327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
0.2 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Property: Market Street Inn
Address: PO Box 224, 4973 Market St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0224
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and relax at the charming Market Street Inn on beautiful, historic Mackinac Island. Start your day with a complimentary breakfast served in your room, the parlor or our guests favorite, the garden courtyard. Built in 1900, each room awaits you with modern amenities yet with turn of the century charm. Located on quaint and quiet Market Steet, the front porch holds views of Fort Mackinac. A short walk around the corner and you are at the beginning of town where restaurants and shops abound. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Market Street Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing