We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful park”

Mackinac Island State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is Mackinac Island State Park, a landscape characterized by high limestone bluffs, beautiful vistas of sparkling water, vibrant forests, and mystical geological formations. With automobiles banned since 1898, here exists a quieter way of life away from interstate noise of cities. Over 80 percent of Mackinac Island is within Mackinac Island State Park—free of charge and open year round—where you’ll discover the true natural gems of Mackinac. Whether visiting this island parkland by foot, bike, horseback, or carriage, these many majestic geological wonders and unique historical monuments are visual treasures found only here—on the island sacred to the Ojibwa and Odawa Great Lakes Indian tribes. According to them, this is where life began. You’re invited to discover why.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
MANKATO
Level Contributor
171 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We took the carriage ride which goes through the park. I noticed hikers enjoying the trails . The plant life--trees and flowers--were beautifully green, almost like in Ireland.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 110kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,096
    236
    44
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
318 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Take your own bike to save money.”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The outside of the island is 8 miles long. There are many other roads and trails to explore. Some places have many stairs to get to the good sites. There are walking trails too. It's $8 each bike round trip on the ferry. I saw wild life--squirrels, birds, ducks--and wild flowers--Trillium and wild orchids, forget-me-nots. Take a camera and stop often for pictures.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dayzdx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Indiana
Level Contributor
154 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hiking trails”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We hiked the Tranquil Bluffs Trail, and it certainly lived up to its name. We encountered zero hikers on the trail. The trail does go to Arch Rock, and the masses were there--but all had arrived by bicycle or horse-drawn carriage/wagon. The trail was beautiful and included many scenic overlooks and lots of shade! I am certainly glad we hiked this trail, and we plan to do more hiking while we are on the island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank REC_23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great for biking or taking the carriage tour. Lots to see and explore on the island and within the park. Be sure to stop and check out the old cemetaries!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank DMB0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Way to Experience History”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Even the youngest travelers will appreciate Mackinac Island State Park in the way that it presents history. Of course there are the expected cannon shots, bugle calls, and gun shots, but there are plenty of interactive displays as well. The kids enjoyed playing the games played during that era. The adults enjoyed the video images of the fort doctor treating actual documented cases and comparing with how that case would be treated in a modern hospital. There is lots of walking and exposure to the elements (cold, raw, and rainy when we were there) so come prepared. One of the nicest touches was having Boy Scouts act as guides throughout the park. They were so excited to help and be a part of history.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Unionsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mackinac Island State Park also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Mackinac Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing