We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch!”
Review of The Gate House

The Gate House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A casual restaurant/bar just a short walk down Grand Hill. Serving lunch, dinner, and beverages inside and outside. Televisions and live music. Overnight guests of Grand Hotel on the Modified American Plan or Full American Plan receive a $20.00 per adult credit towards the food portion of their dinner bill. There is tipping at The Gate House. Check the Restaurant Events Calendar for live music schedule, food/drink specials and more.Hours of Operation: 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 a.m.Luncheon: 11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Dinner: 5:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and 5:00 p.m. - 10:00 p.m. Friday and Saturday Overnight guests of Grand Hotel on the Modified American Plan receive a $20.00 per adult credit towards the food portion of their bill.There is tipping at The Gate House.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We ate here for lunch (just the 3 of us) and had a chef salad, chicken salad sandwich, and a grilled chicken sandwich. We all enjoyed the food and the atmosphere inside was fun (watching sports on all the different TV screens). Our waitress was new to the island but very enthusiastic. We had great service. Nice Restaurant - thanks!

Thank pianokam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFD11, Manager at The Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals. We do take pride in both our quality of food and service. Again thank you for your positive remarks and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 236 of 321 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

Had a delightful lunch sitting on the patio of the Gate House. Service was fast, friendly and efficient. Our server made excellent suggestions. We were not disappointed. The salads are big enough to share. One of our group had the onion bisque and loved it! Sitting on the patio, we enjoyed the sunny day and the horse and carriage, bicycle, and foot traffic passing by,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFD11, Manager at The Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch and our Patio. It is such a fantastic place to sit and watch people/horses go by. We don't want anyone to leave hungry so we do make sure our portion sizes are large enough. Again thank you for taking time to leave a review and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The Gate House was excellent. The fish and chips was delicious. The crab and shrimp dip was the best I've had. My 10 yr old loved it. The location and ambiance was lovely.

Thank PKSS1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFD11, Manager at The Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here. Please come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We ate hear for lunch instead of paying for the Grand Hotel lunch buffet. The whole family enjoyed the tasty food and generous portions. We had from age 2 to 60s and it worked well for us. The pictures on the wall of old time Mackinac are really neat, too. Our server was awesome (on exchange study from Singapore). The TVs are a nice addition as it was during the World Cup, but they don't detract from the slightly classy atmosphere.

Thank NCfamily77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFD11, Manager at The Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that we had something for everyone. That is our goal each and every day. Teck was the name of your server. He is here studying as part of our student visa program. We have multiple students working with us this season learning the hospitality and service business. We do have 11 different flat screen tv's including an 80 inch big screen for sporting events. Our pictures are of the late 1800's and early 1900's of Mackinac Island to show our guests that even though a lot has changed around here it is still very much the same. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. We hope you enjoyed your stay and visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have eaten here before on a previous trip and loved it so we were happy to return. This time with a child with a food allergy. The restaurant was more than prepared and both the server and kitchen was educated and had accommodations available to handle our needs. Everyone had an excellent and safe meal! And mom had a great Martini too!

2  Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FFD11, Manager at The Gate House, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is our goal each and every day to make sure we accommodate every single guest to the best of our abilities. We are very happy to hear that our training does work and that you were very satisfied. Please be sure to visit us again on your next trip to Mackinac Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gate House also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Gate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing