We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service; fish was average”
Review of Seabiscuit Cafe

Seabiscuit Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch
Description: This fabulous Mackinac Island eatery features an appropriate horse theme from the 1938 true life story of the famous horse, Seabiscuit. A great deal of care was taken to restore the original brick surfaces, hardwood floors and new furnishings have transformed the 1800’s bank building into a cozy, comfortable restaurant. An excellent casual menu appropriately fits this charming place. Seabiscuit fans rave about the Lobster Roll, Deep Fried Macaroni Balls, Guinness Cheese Crock, Whitefish Chowder And Warm Apple Carrot Cake. Top it off with a Manmosa, a mango infused vodka with champagne. A fine wine selection is available along with a full bar so stop in for an afternoon cocktail or stay for the evening sipping your favorite martini.
Canton, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great service; fish was average”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Our host was great. I may have just ordered the wrong entree. The whitefish filet on sweet potato fries was alright. Probably would visit this place again but would order something different.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadeem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    310
    107
    41
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, OH
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We just returned from our initial trip to Mackinac Island. The Sea Biscuit Cafe was my husband's favorite restaurant/bar. We sat at the bar for lunch. The bartender was fabulous, quite entertaining with all the patrons. The whitefish chowder was awesome! Don't miss this place!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeachLoverWarren_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Bloody Marys on the Island”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Food is very filling and tasty-but the Bloody Marys are the best anywhere! I had a Taco Salad and it was HUGE and very filling. The waitstaff is also very friendly and prompt.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank klickl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service Can Be Hit or Miss”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Went a couple times while on the island. Food was great. Had the Triple Crown club sandwich and the fish ruben. Very good. The only complaint was that the first night the service was great, but the second night we got a different waiter and the service was so-so. The waiter from the first night was there the second night but we sat at a different table. Guess we should have switched seats.

Helpful?
Thank mhessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The wait is worth it here. A smaller quaint establishment. The food and service were both top notch. One of my favorite placed to eat on the island.

Helpful?
Thank ely0273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seabiscuit Cafe also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to Seabiscuit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing