We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B On Main Street”
Review of Windermere Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windermere Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I just returned from Mackinac Island, and had a pleasant stay at the Windermere. When I called to book, I selected a third floor room with a lake view, which was awesome! Our room was small - just enough space for a queen size bed, dresser, chair, and a private bathroom with shower stall - but we did not need much space because most of our time was spent exploring the island and relaxing on the front porch. This was my husband's first visit to the island, and he appreciated the location of the Windermere - it is right on Main Street, however, it is towards the end, so it's less crowded, and there is an empty lot across the street, which allows for a full view of Lake Huron.

At night, we did still hear noise from the street, even with the windows closed, so if this will bother you, I would recommend a room on the side or in the back. Even still, we also heard noise from the people in other guest rooms, so perhaps a little bit of noise should be expected. As with all hotels on Mackinac, this is an older property, but it is very well maintained.

Breakfast was very basic - coffee and orange juice (if you get there before the OJ runs out!) and some assorted packaged muffins and pastries.

Overall, this hotel is a GREAT value! My parents have been staying here almost every summer for quite a few years, and I will certainly consider staying here next time we come back! The hotel seems every bit as charming as some of the higher priced B&Bs - perhaps a bit more basic in decor and breakfast, but for tens or hundreds of dollars less in cost, it is well well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlabid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Windermere Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 113 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

We had a wonderful 1 night stay at the charming Windermere. We booked reservations online line and found check-in to be a breeze. Robert, the porter, obtained our luggage from the Arnold Line docks and carried them up 2 flights up stairs while giving us a brief history of the hotel.

Our 3rd floor room was fresh, airy, and immaculately clean! It featured lovely bay windows overlooking downtown, the harbor, and the hotel's large flower garden (there were rows upon row of flower flats awaiting their planting). We were able to open the windows to take advantage of a refreshing spring breeze. The large, modern bathroom came with tub/shower, heat lamps, toiletries, and outside window. The room also had a huge walk-in closet. Not a speck of dust or dirt to be found anywhere - windows, shades, curtains, carpet, flooring, walls, bed linens, bathroom, even the closet, all clean! Both beds were firm and comfortable with pillow-topped mattresses. The regular pillows were not to my liking, but adequate none the less. No TV or phone in the room, but with so much to do on the island, even the kids didn't care!

The main lobby and sitting room were welcoming and home-like with plenty of seating, a large TV, piano, flowers, historical pictures, etc. Relaxing on the large open-air porch was perfect for unwinding at days end and watching the horses trot by, or one could enjoy the view from the adjacent enclosed porch area.

A light continental breakfast was served in the morning with a nice variety of danish, muffins, OJ, and coffee.

The front desk staff, porter, and housekeepers were all quite friendly and helpful.

Certainly the location of the Windermere can't be beat! Located on the main street with beautiful views of the harbor, seconds away from shopping, yet far enough from the noise and congestion of mid-town. Walk across the street to the Windermere's private park and enjoy a light lunch at the 'Doghouse' kiosk while watching the ferry's pass by against the backdrop of Round Island Lighthouse and Mackinac Bridge.

Overall, a wonderful experience of which we will definitely return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuckelFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the Windermere for 2 nights with our eight month old baby. The porch is wonderful! It looks out over the water, and the street traffic of horses and bikes are right in front of you. We even watched the bridal carriages drive by. The lobby was very pleasant and serene, and our room was clean and comfortable. It was everything we need and wanted in a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Even tho it was 45 degrees and very wet outside, the Windermere was beautiful, warm and charming. Lovely Victorian decor, no TV or phone in the room, which becomes a Good thing once you get used to the idea. Room heating was uneven. Nice views from our 2 rooms, one of the water, one of the horses. It was too cold to try out the porch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 120Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights, booking it relatively last minute and finding it one of the only places with which we could do so. The reviews, we found, were pretty much spot on. We had a room facing the harbor and it was wonderful to wake up to the sound of horses walking on the street rather than horns, sirens and the like.

The staff was really of little help. The room itself was quite nice. The selling point, however, is that it is in a terrific location. Terrific.

We flew in to the airport and brought our bicycles with us. In retrospect we would have just rented them, as there is no way to transport the bicycles from the airport to the village. The horse-drawn taxi service would not allow our foldup bikes to be loaded onto the carriage, nor would they permit us to simply pay them to load our luggage onto the carriage and for us then to ride into the village and be waiting at the hotel to pick our luggage from the carriage. This seemed bizarre. Fortunately, our taxi driver suggested, off the record, that we might ask others on the carriage to watch after our luggage, but he would need to "look the other way."

Overall, the Island made this hotel tolerable.

Room Tip: We would suggest a room overlooking the harbor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supercubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is in a prime position with great views. We were rather taken aback by the gruff reception we received on check in and unfortunately this set the scene for further contact with staff at the hotel during our stay. On checking out our money was taken without any thanks for our custom. Our room was lovely with a comfortable bed, clean bathroom and good view. Continental breakfast was very poor. This has been stated many times in previous reviews so I guess the management do not intend to do anything about this. The porch is by far the best feature of this hotel due to its great view and comfortable furniture.

Room Tip: if you pay extra for a sea view make sure you get a good one.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kays3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Quaint hotel that resembles a Bed & Breakfast minus the kitchen. Front desk staff is very friendly & is willing to go the extra mile for you. Very clean rooms. Beautiful courtyard. The best front porch view on the island. No TV's in the rooms & I count that as a blessing. I was in 3 different rooms and they were all different. B6 room has an odd layout and it would be very cramped if 4 people stayed in that room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
975 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,069 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hotel

Address: Main St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0538
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $85 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing