We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful family vacation!”
Review of Windermere Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windermere Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the Windermere for 2 nights with our eight month old baby. The porch is wonderful! It looks out over the water, and the street traffic of horses and bikes are right in front of you. We even watched the bridal carriages drive by. The lobby was very pleasant and serene, and our room was clean and comfortable. It was everything we need and wanted in a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 115 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

Even tho it was 45 degrees and very wet outside, the Windermere was beautiful, warm and charming. Lovely Victorian decor, no TV or phone in the room, which becomes a Good thing once you get used to the idea. Room heating was uneven. Nice views from our 2 rooms, one of the water, one of the horses. It was too cold to try out the porch.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 120Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights, booking it relatively last minute and finding it one of the only places with which we could do so. The reviews, we found, were pretty much spot on. We had a room facing the harbor and it was wonderful to wake up to the sound of horses walking on the street rather than horns, sirens and the like.

The staff was really of little help. The room itself was quite nice. The selling point, however, is that it is in a terrific location. Terrific.

We flew in to the airport and brought our bicycles with us. In retrospect we would have just rented them, as there is no way to transport the bicycles from the airport to the village. The horse-drawn taxi service would not allow our foldup bikes to be loaded onto the carriage, nor would they permit us to simply pay them to load our luggage onto the carriage and for us then to ride into the village and be waiting at the hotel to pick our luggage from the carriage. This seemed bizarre. Fortunately, our taxi driver suggested, off the record, that we might ask others on the carriage to watch after our luggage, but he would need to "look the other way."

Overall, the Island made this hotel tolerable.

Room Tip: We would suggest a room overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank supercubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel is in a prime position with great views. We were rather taken aback by the gruff reception we received on check in and unfortunately this set the scene for further contact with staff at the hotel during our stay. On checking out our money was taken without any thanks for our custom. Our room was lovely with a comfortable bed, clean bathroom and good view. Continental breakfast was very poor. This has been stated many times in previous reviews so I guess the management do not intend to do anything about this. The porch is by far the best feature of this hotel due to its great view and comfortable furniture.

Room Tip: if you pay extra for a sea view make sure you get a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kays3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Quaint hotel that resembles a Bed & Breakfast minus the kitchen. Front desk staff is very friendly & is willing to go the extra mile for you. Very clean rooms. Beautiful courtyard. The best front porch view on the island. No TV's in the rooms & I count that as a blessing. I was in 3 different rooms and they were all different. B6 room has an odd layout and it would be very cramped if 4 people stayed in that room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We only planned to stay on the island for one night and most properties required a minimum of two nights. That was one of the reasons we ended up a Windemere.

Awesome location with a large front porch with a great view.

Continental breakfast was not special. No TV or internet in the rooms. Wireless was available on the porch and in the lobby.

Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor. If walking steps is an issue suggest you book a lower floor at time o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryfrommnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were just there and the hotel and staff were absolutely wonderful!! The hotel is in a great location, clean, accommodating .., just a gem! We plan to come again soon! Thanks for making our stay so pleasant! ~ The Bakers

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cis1345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,030 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
1,120 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hotel

Address: Main St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0538
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range: $85 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing