We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly place, overpriced”
Review of Windermere Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windermere Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
lafayette, ca
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unfriendly place, overpriced”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I would avoid Windermere. Very overpriced and a nasty older lady behind the front desk hiding in her office, unhelpful and always talking on her phone about personal problems. She gave an unattractive scowl at the guests, no smiles here.

Other negatives are:

A very poor continental breakfast, a few rolls and coffee, no plates or fruit.

No internet in the rooms and poor reception in the lobby.

Many rooms do not have air conditioning and it can be very muggy.

No shampoo in the room.

Clearly they operating a tourist mill, prices start at $250 and up. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank servis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
42
40
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

Third time here, and we felt that the overall feel dropped a notch. After staying at other B&B's, I feel this is not a very good value. You are better off staying at the other end of Main St, near St. Anne's. Better breakfasts and less expensive, not to mention friendlier on that end.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank WISFirefighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Arkansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This was our first trip to the Windermere and to Mackinac Island. We love the Windermere! If you are looking for tv and internet games, look elsewhere. There are is no tv or internet in the guest rooms, only downstairs in the lobby and sunroom. We didn't miss them at all. We had a lovely lake view from our 3rd floor room ~ waking to the sunrise. Our windows allowed for the cool lake breezes and the sounds of the clippity clop of the horses. The Windermere is at the end of the downtown so there is less congestion, quieter yet convenient to restaurants and shopping. The porch is lovely, a place to watch people, the ships and carriages.

You will not find a cleaner hotel on this island! You will not find finer people on this island. The staff is always willing to help meet your needs, always with a smile. Ms. Margaret and Ms. Ginna are true locals and have a wealth of knowledge for all your questions. Glen, the porter, is everywhere, always ready to help and give suggestions.

We cannot wait for our return trip and stay at the Windermere!

Room Tip: If you want a full lake view, try the 3rd floor facing the lake/street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

For the last 17 years we have done a family vacation on Mackinac Island. Typically, this includes 2 families and grandma so we rent anywhere from 2-3 rooms. Through the years we have stayed at many Inn's or Hotels. As of late we have chosen the Windermere and will once again visit there in July. What makes the Windermere stand out from the other hotels and inns on the Island is the location and amazing water view and porch, second only to the Grand. The Hotel is old, but that only adds to the charm. The owners are charming and quick to assist with any questions, or matter we might encounter. The rooms are large enough to allow 4 people to be comfortable and not feel cramped. Breakfast consists of coffee and sweet rolls, but if more is wanted there are many places a quick, close walk from the hotel. Our favorite part of the day is always from mid-afternoon into the evening lounging on the porch with a snack or beverage. Dinner always proves challenging because there are so many choices. The Windermere provides a binder with most of the menu's for the restaurants which sometimes makes choosing even harder!! It's a great place for a week-end and we look forward to going again this summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disneyfanMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keego Harbor, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

A nice hotel. Romms are a bit dated but the location is wonderful. The best part of staying at this hotel is enjoying the evenings and mornings sitting on the porch that has a wonderful views of the lake. Not all rooms have lake views. Glen, the long time porter will greet you at the docks. Before Glen it was a gentleman named Willie, I beleive. We enjoyed spending nights sharing conversation with him on the porch. I think he was also a stand in extra in the film Somewhere in Time which was filmed on the island in 1979.

Room Tip: Book a room in the front center of the hotel where you can enjoy the best views of the lake and stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piratesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We come to the island a few times every year, but this is our first (and only) stay at this hotel. We decided to splurge and choose a lake view room for our 1 night stay when I phoned for reservations. Surprise!...if you craned your head to the very right of the window, you could see the lake...disappointing! No toiletries...disappointing! A stale pkg of donuts and coffee "continental breakfast"...disappointing! Bathroom floor was not clean.

Room Tip: Skip the lake view $...you won't get one anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Windermere was not our first choice. The bed and breakfast we originally booked did not have a record of our reservations. Not to worry. Glen, our porter contacted the Windermere and they had one room available for our two night stay. Glen transported our luggage to the Windermere and up three flights of stairs.
The room was small but very clean. It overlooked beautiful gardens. There is no air conditioning but Glen provided us with a fan which was adequate since daytime temperatures were in the 70s and night temps were in the 50s.
Breakfast consisted of store-bought muffins, donuts, danish and coffee cake. Juice and coffee were provided; not spectacular, but adequate
The staff were friendly and provided lunch and dinner suggestions.
Overall, we had a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJA917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#8 of 12 in Mackinac Island
897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
Chippewa Hotel Waterfront
#4 of 12 in Mackinac Island
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iroquois
Hotel Iroquois
#2 of 12 in Mackinac Island
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Hotel

Property: Windermere Hotel
Address: Main St, Mackinac Island, MI 49757-0538
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Mackinac Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel Mackinac Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing