We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new favorite place for dinner on Mackinac Island!”

The Yankee Rebel Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Superior Township, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our new favorite place for dinner on Mackinac Island!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The Yankee Rebel is named for an Island resident who refused to accept British rule and was sent to prison in Detroit as an enemy to the crown. We love the patriotic back story for this place, but the menu selection, food quality, great service and atmosphere are what make it number one in our books. As visitors to the island for almost 25 years running, we've sampled everything the Island has to offer and this is our favorite for casual to semi-formal dining. The owner tends bar when it is busy and also owns Horn's. That hands-on approach and years of experience is the "recipe" for success and we are glad we have this great dinner option when we visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slh8529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    342
    124
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alma, Michigan
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Terrific food and good service!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Even though some of the reviews were lukewarm, we tried our luck and weren't disappointed. My whitefish was superb, the sides were all quite good, and even the rolls were excellent. My husband and daughters enjoyed their meals very much as well. This is a great place for a family with diverse offerings.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoMich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southgate
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“yum”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

as soon as we get off the boat and check into our hotel we go to eat. make a bee line to the yankee rebel. everything we've ever had there is awesome. started dining there when the manager of Hart's (who had a little baby named Anika) told us her husband did the woodwork. this was the 1st year they opened, so you know it's been a long time. anyways it's always the1st place we eat at, and we always order the pot roast melt. also ask for mushrooms on top. always good eats. service is good too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, mo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great value”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

everything was delicious, prices were very reasonable, and servers were friendly. I would recommend for dinner any day

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stlcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

the food is good and so is the friendly service but as in all mackinaw island eateries it was pricey

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank vimana12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yankee Rebel Tavern also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Yankee Rebel Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing