We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short fun experience”

The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly House & Insect World
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A short fun experience”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was a fun little place to visit. I was skeptical at first but once I was inside, my fears were put to rest. There were butterflies everywhere and all different kinds. I even had a friend that landed on my shoulder and stayed there most of the time I was in there. I wore out my camera battery taking pictures. You can stay there as long as you like but allow at least a half hour.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tbaz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    148
    54
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warren, MI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was expecting it to be larger than it was, but the butterflies were plentiful and there was a lot of variety. Places were provided to sit, and my sister had three butterflies land on her and linger, one on her nose! Well worth the visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace with Gods guys”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

ONE OF KIND VERY SWEET EXPERIENCE..move slow and the tame beauties will come and visit if you have the calling...very special

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
146 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really neat!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I never thought I would get such a thrill from seeing a bunch of butterflys, but this place is really cool....so many butterflys with so much color. Really a unique place to visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Butterfly's landed all over us!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family vacay to the island included a stop at the Butterfly house. Lots of beautiful butterfly's! Our kids loved it! Great gift shop too! These are moments your children will always cherish! Be sure to wear bright colors!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carriemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly House & Insect World also viewed

Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 
Mackinac Island, Mackinac County
 

Been to The Original Mackinac Island Butterfly House & Insect World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing